Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Fulltext Articles
Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article. Look for this icon:
Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext.
You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.
Search these literature databases to find articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports, and more. Most are provided by subscription through the University of Idaho Library.
Academic Search Premier, Communication and Mass Media, and Masterfile Premier (Ebsco)
These multidisciplinary databases provide access to a wide subject range of academic and some popular articles. Many, but not all, are available in full text.
This alternative health database provides full text for more than 160 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
The online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings), BIOSIS Previews is the largest collection of biological sciences records in the world. It contains references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms.
Environmental Health and Toxicology databases
Databases containing data and citations on toxicity, mutagenicity, releases and hazards of various substances and products . Some of the databases included are Household Products Database, HSDB (Hazardous Substances Databank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System) and TRI (Toxic Release Inventory). Also provides links to resources in environmental health, biological and chemical warfare, West Nile Virus, environmental justice and alternatives to animal testing.
Google’s index to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Not a defined set, but more of a scattershot of scholarly sources and citations.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are citations and abstracts for nearly 650 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Updated daily.
Physical Education Index
Citations and abstracts to literature in the fields of physical education curricula, sports medicine, and dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
Scholarly index covering psychology and psychiatry which provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates.
The National Library of Medicine's search service, PubMed provides access to millions of citations and abstracts in MEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
The most comprehensive database for scholarly research in chemistry. Provides access to the following Chemical Abstracts Service databases and Medline:
-- Chemical Abstracts (CAPLUS, bibliographic data, 1907-present)
-- Registry(chemical structures, biosequences and names, with associated property and spectral data)
-- CASREACT (single and multi-step organic reactions, 1840-present)
-- Chemcats (commercial availability of chemicals from major suppliers)
-- Chemlist (regulatory information on chemicals)
Web of Science
The UI Library subscription to Web of Science contains Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 6.650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.