Skip to main content

Research Guides

Education - Curriculum and Instruction: Finding Education Articles

This guide contains information for students in C&I.

How Do I Find Articles?

Articles are found in journals, and journals are often found in databases. Different databases provide access to different journals. To find education-related articles, you'll want to search in education-related databases.  The list to the right lets you know what education-databases that the University of Idaho Library subscribes to.  Please ask if you have any questions!

Scholarly vs. Popular


Peer Reviewed (Scholarly or Refereed) Journal Articles

  • Reviewed and critiqued by experts in the author's field
  • Highly respected in academia
  • Have footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies
  • Usually include an abstract
  • Include author's credentials and institutional affiliation

Magazine Articles

  • Written for the general public
  • Contain advertising
  • Reviewed by editors
  • Limited references
  • Often For-Profit

Education Databases for University Students

Note: You may need to select the Database title from the list of Ebsco Databases if it does not automatically connect. 

ERIC (from Ebsco)

The Education Resource Information Center from the U.S. Department of Education is the most comprehensive index to education literature. While the information can be accessed from the Department of Education’s website, the subscription version provided by EBSCO offers enhanced search and limiting options. ERIC includes peer reviewed journals, practitioner journals, lesson plans, unpublished working papers, dissertations, and more.

Education Index Retrospective

Education Index Retrospective searches over 500 education-related periodicals from the time period 1929-1983.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.

PsycINFO

Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates.

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection is a good place to search for full text articles in the field of education. Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, citations and abstracts are provided for nearly 600 journals.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Education Databases for K-12 Students

Explora Primary and Explora Secondary

Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction. 

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Designed specifically for high school students, this database provides full text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating back as far as 1975 for key magazines. Also provides nearly 550 full text pamphlets, 150 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLi (Libraries Linking Idaho).

Middle Search Plus

Contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains Essential Documents in American History, and other important information resources such as an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLi (Libraries Linking Idaho).

Novelist K-8

If you are looking for ways to introduce both teachers and students to new books, and if you want to encourage independent reading and help students think more about why a particular story appeals to them -- you should look at NoveList® K-8NoveList K-8 contains enhanced subject access for over 60,000 fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population. Full-text reviews from sources like School Library Journal andBooklist are available for many titles.

Primary Search

Provides full text for more than 50 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLi (Libraries Linking Idaho).

‚Äč

Managing Your Sources