LibGuides: Anthropology: Find Web Resources

Foundations and Organizations

Center for World Indigenous Studies
The Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS) is an independent research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations.
Leakey Foundation
Information and resources related to human origins, including project reports, news releases, an audio archive (featuring interviews with famous paleoanthropologists), and educational resources. Includes an interactive timeline of discovery, an illustrated glossary, and excerpts from the member publication Anthroquest.

Scholarly/Professional Societies

American Anthropological Association (AAA)
The primary professional society of anthropologists in the US. Their website also includes links to other anthropology societies.
Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI)
The professional society for anthropologists in Great Britain and Ireland. It is the oldest professional society of anthropologists
Northwest Anthropological Association
The primary purposes of the Northwest Anthropological Association are to encourage the exchange of ideas and information among members of the anthropological community and to coordinate the annual Northwest Anthropological Conference.
High Plains Society for Applied Anthropology
A regional professional organization of university and college teachers, students, practitioners (government, private, consulting, etc.), community representatives, and others interested in using the tools of anthropology and related fields to solve human and environmental problems.
Society for Historical Archaeology
Research tools, and career resources and networks, for a discipline that studies the material remains of past cultures and societies. Offers access to contents and abstracts of the Historical Archaeology Journal and selected articles from the organization's newsletter.

National and International Museums

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections by exploring images, full-text books, newspapers, letters, diaries, and archival papers, and historical audio and video recordings.

International Council of Museums
ICOM is the international organisation of museums and museum professionals which is committed to the conservation, continuation and communication to society of the world's natural and cultural heritage, present and future, tangible and intangible.
Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia
The Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia is world-renowned for its collections, research, teaching, public programs, and community connections.
Museum of Anthropology at the University of Denver: A Teaching Museum
A teaching museum dedicated to educating students about the ethical practices of conservation, interpretation and administration of anthropological collections
Museum of Anthropology - Wake Forest University
Creates awareness of global cultures by collecting, protecting, managing, and exhibiting archaeological artifacts, ethnographic objects, and visual arts of past and present peoples, and providing opportunities for intercultural learning.
National Museum of the American Indian
The first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans.
National Museum of Natural History: Anthropology Collections and Archives
The diverse collections of the Department of Anthropology are an unparalleled resource containing historical and contemporary materials that document the world's cultures and history of anthropology.
Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology at Harvard
Founded in 1866, one of the oldest museums in the world devoted to anthropology and houses one of the most comprehensive records of human cultural history in the Western Hemisphere.
University of Michigan Museum of Anthropology (UMMA)
An international leader in anthropological archaeology research and student training. Collections include materials from all continental areas, with particular strengths in eastern North America and Asia.
Global Egyptian Museum
A 'virtual museum' of objects gathered from more than 800 public collections. Searchable by type of objects, materials, periods, sites, and museums.

Research Guides

Anthropology: Find Web Resources

Foundations and Organizations

Scholarly/Professional Societies

National and International Museums