Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bouquet of Violets
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec. Bouquet of Violets. 1882. The Wendy and Emery Reves Collection at the Dallas Museum of Art, Dallas Texas. Accessed through ARTstor: DMA_.1985.R.77.
Image Search Engines
Search by keyword for images, or click the camera icon in the search box to search with an image, either by uploading an image file or pasting an image URL.
Features images already cleared for re-use through Creative Commons licenses. Search by keyword and click thumbnails to find attribution information. For more info about what licenses are included in this search, see http://flickrcc.bluemountains.net/flickrCC/about.html
"Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips". Be sure to follow each image's licensing guidelines to ensure copyright compliance.
Image Resources on the Web
Have a favorite image resource you'd like to see listed? Use the contact information on the right to submit suggestions to Kristin Henrich, Art & Architecture Librarian.
American Memory (Library of Congress)
Contains full access to over 5 million primary sources covering all aspects of the American experience. Of particular interest might be the Advertising, Architecture, or Cities collections. Use the index to browse.
Center for Creative Photography (University of Arizona)
Digitized images of the University of Arizona's photography collections, including works from artists such as Ansel Adams, John Gutmann, Edward Weston, Harry Callahan, and many others.
Digital Image Collections Guide (American Library Association)
This amazing bibliography of image resources, curated by subject librarians, features "quality digital image collections spanning more than 85 subjects, including over 950 digital collections". The guide is browsable by subjects such as art, architecture, design, area studies, and horticulture, and also features many science, medical, and social science collections.
National Gallery of Art, Washington DC
"Contains text and/or data on all of the objects in the National Gallery's collection, and images of more than 5600 objects".
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"Images of art and cultural objects from the New York Public Library, including dance, design, furniture, motion pictures, music, ornament, performance, spectacle, and theatre".
Smithsonian Institution Photostream @ Flickr
"Includes a sample of the more than 13 million images in some seven hundred collections in the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and research centers; contains photographs collected from outside sources in addition to those taken by Smithsonian staff, and represent a broad range of subjects and themes in the fields of art, history, culture, and science".
WorldImages (California State University)
Provides access to the internationally-recognized California State University IMAGE Project; search or browse over 65,000 images.
Have an image but need info?
Try an open-source reverse image search using TinEye or Google's Reverse Image Search. Both places let you upload an image, refer to a URL, or download a Firefox or Chrome extension that allows users to right-click on an image.