LibGuides: Art & Design: Find Articles

Using 360 Link to Full Text

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on

You will be redirected to a page showing options for finding full text:

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Citing Books

Need help citing resources for a paper?

Try using Purdue University's Online Writing Program, which features a description of various citation styles and examples: see their APA Guide or MLA Guide for help. Examples for reference lists/bibliographies and in-text citations are listed in the left-hand sidebar of each page.

Find Articles using UI Library Databases

Art Index & Art Index Retrospective
Coverage to article citations from 1942-present, in the disciplines of art, architecture, and design.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Allows users to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections by exploring images, full-text books, newspapers, letters, diaries, and archival papers. Contributing institutions include the British Library, the Rijksmuseum, and the Louvre, among others.

Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with ongoing additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and searching capabilities. Covers visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexes approximately 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences with citations to more than 1,100,000 articles including book reviews. Does not include current articles but can be a good source for historical research.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary humanities and social sciences databases, JSTOR includes full-text access to articles from 26 architecture journals and 168 art and design journals. Users can limit both the search and browse functions by discipline.
Project Muse
Another humanities and social sciences database, Project Muse offers full-text access to journals in fields of visual and performing arts.

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.