Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Fisheries and Aquaculture: Articles

Finding Fulltext Articles

Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article.  Look for this icon:

Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext. 

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

Using DOIs

One of the easiest ways to find journal literature is to use the Digital Object Identifier, or DOI.  These are assigned to individual articles by most publishers and usually look something like this:

doi:10.1016/j.foreco.2009.01.017

You can use the doi.org service to easily link directly to the article.  The best part is - these are designed to be permanent!  No need to worry about long URLs that might change down the road.  They are also increasingly accepted as a part of citation formats.

Library Databases

Search these literature databases to find articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports, and more. Most are provided by subscription through the University of Idaho Library.

Web of Science

Web of Science contains the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes thousands of major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
 

Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide

Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide combines databases on all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology. With excellent world coverage, this database includes research on aquaculture species ranging from culture and propagation to genetics, behavior, ecology and habitat.
Aquaculture Database (Univ Idaho)
Contains selected citations and abstracts to journal articles, reports, proceedings related to freshwater salmonids. No longer updated. Covers 1974-1997.

ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
ASFA 3 includes citations to articles, reports, conference proceedings, and grey literature in areas of aquatic pollution and environmental quality, covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.

BioOne
BioOne provides the scholarly community with a collection of peer-reviewed, high quality titles across the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

BIOSIS Previews
Online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM, BIOSIS Previews is the largest collection of biological literature and contains references to primary journal literature on vital biological research and discoveries of new organisms.

ScienceDirect
Website for Elsevier science journals. The UI has subscription access to articles for 1300 titles back to 1995. These titles are indicated by a green icon in the journal listing. Users may view tables of contents and abstracts from 'non-subscribed' journals. Users who register may receive free table of contents alerts.

Literature Reviews

If you are looking for literature reviews, try these resources:

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.