LibGuides: Image Resources: Image Resources @ UI

Library in Bloom

"Library in Bloom". University of Idaho Photographic Services. Retrieved from http://bit.ly/JW2lTz.

Citing Images

Remember, you need to cite any and all images you use, just like you would a book or article. For guidelines on how to appropriately attribute and cite an image, use the resources below.

How to Cite an Image

From the University of Cincinnati, this website outlines image citation for each citation style (MLA, APA, etc.).

MLA Citation Style: OWL @ Purdue

Scroll down to "Painting" to see examples of cited artwork in MLA style.

Visual Literacy

A research guide dedicated to visual literacy from UC Irvine, this page and its links provides some great information about copyright, attribution, and best practices for citing images.

Finding and Using Images

From Simon Fraser University, this guide shares information on how to find and use images, including citation and attribution.

Image Databases @ UI

These image databases are proprietary resources made available through subscriptions by the UI Library. Users off-campus will be asked to authenticate using their barcode number and last name. ARTstor users should create a separate account within ARTstor while on-campus. Questions about access or about creating accounts may be directed to Kristin Henrich using the information at right.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Allows users to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections by exploring images, full-text books, newspapers, letters, diaries, and archival papers, and historical audio and video recordings. Contributing institutions include the British Library, the Rijksmusuem, and the Louvre, among 1500 others

Image Collection (EBSCO)
Searches images associated with articles found on the EBSCO platform, including those found in Academic Search Premier. If you're a visual thinker, be sure to check out the "Visual Search" function!

University of Idaho and Local Images

Barnard Stockbridge Photograph Collection @ UI
Digitized by the University of Idaho Library's Digital Initiatives, "images span the years 1894 to 1964, containing images of Northern Idaho (Wallace/Kellogg Area) mines, towns, fires, scenery, and historical sites."
The Map Room
This digital "map room" allows users to browse over 8,000 local and regional images by location; there are many UI campus photographs, historic Moscow photographs, and images of the surrounding areas, including Idaho, Washington, Montana, and Wyoming.
Photographic Collections from UI Library
Click the "Collections" tab and select the "Photographic Collections" option to see thousands of digitized photographs collected from UI Library's Special Collections & Digital Collections.
University of Idaho Historical Photographs
"Depicts scenes from the University of Idaho's past; includes portraits of past professors and alumni, as well as photos of buildings and events."
University of Idaho Stock Images
From UI Photographic Services, this database contains images of the university commonly used in promotional materials. It features options to choose either free stock images or higher resolution images (fees apply), and users can browse images by category.