LibGuides: Business Resources: Databases

What are Databases?

What can you find in a library database?

Databases are organized collections of information that allow you to search for information for a particular topic. They may contain journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, book reviews, industry or company reports, or datasets.

Some databases provide full-text of articles while others offer only indexing and abstracting services. If we don't have a database that provides the full-text of a resource you need, you can use Interlibrary Loan to make a request.

Primary Business/Economics Databases

The University of Idaho Library subscribes to several business and economics databases. The following are good starting places for research and are available to all students, faculty, and staff at the university, both on and off campus.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database, ABI/INFORM Global includes the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels, including topics such as business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive landscape. Coverage also includes online access to the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.
Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
For business professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and general researchers, Gale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context.
It’s the first online resource that empowers people to not only study international business, but also to interpret their research. Deep intelligence powered by statistical data helps users spend less time searching for data – and more time connecting their discoveries to practical applications.
• 193 profiles of UN-recognized countries
• 300 sources of investment and brokerage reports
• 1,000 SWOT reports
• 2,000 case studies
• 2,300 corporate chronologies
• 4,200 full-text periodicals
• 11,500 market research reports
• 15,000 company histories
• 50,500 articles from Market Share Reporter
• 465,000 company profiles and 2,000 industry profiles
• Plus thousands of interactive charts; interactive metrics from the World Bank; and country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit and Dun & Bradstreet
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, business database covering articles, many of them full-text, from scholarly journals and business periodicals, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Full text reports are also available for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Morningstar Investment Research Center offers analysis of 1700 stocks, 2000 mutual funds and 300 exchange traded funds (ETFs). Also includes company reports written by Morningstar's experts, up to 10 years of financials, bond information, ratios, SEC filings and information on insider actions and institutional holders. Reports are available for the top 2000 companies but other information is available for many more. Some data can be exported to Excel.

NOTE: Licensed access restricted to 2 simultaneous users
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
The Working Papers contain the initial reports of NBER researchers in a series of scientific papers aimed at other professional economists around the world. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals.

These papers have not gone through a review process. The database provides access to preliminary NBER research to encourage discussion and suggestions before final publication.
NetAdvantage - Standard and Poors This link opens in a new window
In-depth company profiles on over 8,000 US public companies * Essential information on more than 100,000 companies including data on over 85,000 private companies * Analysis on over 15,000 funds based on Standard & Poor's Stars rating system * Reports on 50+ industries and 110+ sub-industries.
Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Containing more than 15,000 credible news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business, LexisNexis features company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
Click here to access Nexis Uni FAQs

Unlimited users
Safari: O'Reilly's Learning Platform for Higher Education – Safari Books Online This link opens in a new window
Safari provides access to leading titles in business, technology, communications, management, design, marketing, leadership, sales, and operations. Content includes thousands of books, videos, expert-curated courses, and interactive learning environments.
⚫ Multiple modes—books, video, case studies, learning paths and other media—serving students at all levels of proficiency
⚫ Unlimited multi-user access for all UI-affiliated users
⚫ Complete access to all content
⚫ New, exclusive O'Reilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders
⚫ Intuitive interface – with all-in-one access to personalized learning, interactive classes, and a robust discovery engine
⚫ Easy-to-use mobile app, with offline learning for easy answers on the go
⚫ Learning resources for emerging career fields like big data, artificial intelligence, and gaming
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Includes access to nearly 400 full-text periodicals, 450 reference books, hundreds of business videos, and a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas. Of particular interest may be the state-specific resources and the Help and Advice sections. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.

Additional Resources for Business and Economics

The library subscribes to many good resources to help you with your research. You can find a full list of databases here. Below are a few that may be helpful for business and economics researchers.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics. Coverage includes access to all published Annual Reviews, with backfile access from v. 1 to present.
Human Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 64,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Human Resources, Personnel Psychology, and Work & Occupations.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Internacional This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to English and Spanish-language tests.
* Full-text reviews of more than 3,000 contemporary testing instruments
*All previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938, providing more than 10,000 full-text reviews
*Tests In Print (TIP), a bibliographic database to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print
*Pruebas Publicadas en Español (PPE), a bibliographical database that provides descriptions of more than 570 Spanish-language tests
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD's (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals. Best known for its publications and its statistics, the OECDs work covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics to trade, education, development, science and innovation.
Coverage varies, but generally ends in 2016
UNData This link opens in a new window
UNdata is a single entry point that allows users to access a large number of UN databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search.
The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank is providing free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe. Broader access to these data allows policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately.
There also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia and others, broadening understanding of global issues. This site is meant to provide all users with improved access to World Bank data and to make that data easier to find and use.

Subject Guide

Samantha Thompson-Franklin

Email Me

Contact:

Library 416M
University of Idaho Library
875 Perimeter Drive,
MS 2530
Moscow, ID, 83844

208-885-2531

Research Guides

Business Resources: Databases

What are Databases?

Primary Business/Economics Databases

Additional Resources for Business and Economics

Subject Guide