LibGuides: Sociology/Criminology: Find News and Polls

Newspaper Databases and Resources

Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes full-text access to local, national, and international newspapers; television and radio broadcasts; and newswires and blogs.
Click here to access Nexis Uni FAQs

Unlimited users

New York Times
Sign-up for student access to the New York Times online. You'll need to renew your subscription once each year.

America's News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Includes current and archived coverage of U.S. newspapers and provides access to multiple Idaho and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others. Also contains nearly 913,000 television and radio news transcripts, including ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS and more. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
America's Historical Newspapers - Pacific Northwest Historical Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to historical newspapers from Washington, Oregon and Idaho from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Titles included in the archive: Blackfoot Register 1880-1886 Idaho Statesman 1864-1922 Idaho Falls Times 1891-1920 Idaho Register 1886-1916 Owyhee Avalance 1865-1900 Twin Falls News 1918-1922 Oregon State Journal 1864-1880 Democratic Standard (Portland) 1854-1859 Oregonian 1861-1922 Bellingham Herald 1903-1922 Morning Olympian 1891-1922 Olympia Record 1902-1922 Hokubei Jiji (Seattle) 1916-1918 Tacoma Daily News 1890-1898

The University of Idaho Library also has various current and historic newspapers in print on the 2nd floor of the Library.

Polling Databases and Resources

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.

Research Guides

Sociology/Criminology: Find News and Polls

Newspaper Databases and Resources

Polling Databases and Resources

Current Washington Post Polls