LibGuides: Resources for Community Patrons : Databases

A-Z Database List

ABI/INFORM Global A comprehensive business database, ABI/INFORM Global includes the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels, including topics such as business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive landscape. Coverage also includes online access to the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.
Academic OneFile "This comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. Over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources; access to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning."
Academic Search Premier A good general index to start your research. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Academic Video Online - AVON "Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material."
ACM Digital Library The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection "The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Agricola (Ebsco) Over 4.8 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. Covers agriculture, plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition.
Agricola (USDA National Agricultural Library) AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access), a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+s records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
AGRIS and CARIS AGRIS is an international cooperative system that provides citations to journal literature, theses, reports and other publications in the agricultural sciences. CARIS is an international cooperative system that provides citations to current research in all aspects of agriculture, forestry, fisheries, nutrition, rural development, agricultural economics, and topics in environmental and natural resource areas as they apply to agriculture.
AltHealthWatch This alternative health database provides full text for more than 160 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
America's Historical Newspapers - Pacific Northwest Historical Newspapers Archive Historical newspapers from Washington, Oregon and Idaho chronicle the explosive growth of the Pacific Northwest during the 19th and 20th centuries. The archive includes selected newspapers from the PNW newspapers archive, which itself is a subset of Readex's America's Historical Newspapers collection.
America's News - Historical and Current Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more from this large collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections. Explore news articles from over 2,000 news sources from all 53 U.S. States and Territories. Features Idaho and regional newspapers, including Idaho Statesman, Coeur d'Alene Press, Moscow-Pullman Daily News, Lewiston Tribune, Seattle Times, Spokesman-Review, Oregonian, USA Today and more.
America: History and Life Citations to articles about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields.
American Chemical Society Publications Search 50+ American Chemical Society publications.
American Geological Institute Information Services Access to freely available online databases of geoscience information.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society "Founded in 1812 by Revolutionary War patriot and printer Isaiah Thomas, the American Antiquarian Society is both a learned society and a major independent research library. The AAS has been in existence longer than Library of Congress, and unlike Washington-based archives, it survived the British invasion of 1812. It has the single largest collection of American periodicals of this period. The AAS library today houses the largest and most accessible collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts material printed through 1876 in what is now the United States. This collection provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it, showing how history affected citizens from all walks of life."
American Indian Histories and Cultures This rich selection of primary sources covers such important themes as: American Indians and the European Powers, American Indians and the US Government, Military Encounters: Conflicts, Rebellions and Alliances, Observation, Representation and Cultural Encounters, Indigenous Peoples of Mexico, First Nations of Canada, Missionaries and Education, Trade and Indian Economies, and the Civil Rights Movement.
American West Contains digitized primary unique source materials relating to the American West, including manuscripts, journals, maps, railroad records, newspapers, and ephemera.
Annual Reviews Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics. Coverage includes access to all published Annual Reviews, with backfile access from v. 1 to present.
ArchiveGrid ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
The Argonaut The Argonaut is the award winning student newspaper produced by the University of Idaho Student Media in the Department of Student Involvement. Continuously in print since 1898, it was historically published twice a week during the academic year and distributed across campus and throughout Moscow, Idaho and Pullman, Washington. The Argonaut continues to publish a print edition once a week, as well as an online edition.
Art Index and Art Index Retrospective Art Index and Art Index Retrospective feature high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, providing users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture. The database includes citations for more than 13,000 art dissertations and 25,000 book reviews.
ASABE Technical Library From the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers, includes standards, meeting and conference papers, textbooks and monographs. Also includes the societys three journals: Applied Engineering in Agriculture, Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health and Transactions of the ASAE.
ASCE Library The ASCE Library is the world’s largest full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications. It offers unprecedented online access to more than 145,000 technical and professional papers—1.5 million pages of content. More than 7,000 papers are added annually.
Astronomy Database Provides archival full page image access to many standard journals in astronomy.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals The only comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design, surveys more than 2,500 U.S. and foreign journals. Three-fourths of these are not indexed in any other source.
Berg Fashion Library The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
BioCyc Database Collection BioCyc is a collection of 14728 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for understanding their data. These tools for are used for navigating, visualizing, and analyzing the underlying databases, and for analyzing omics data. The BioCyc website provides a suite of software tools for database searching and visualization, for omics data analysis, and for comparative genomics and comparative pathway questions.
Biography and genealogy master index Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Biography in Context Biography In Context is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the very latest information.
Biological Science Collection "This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
BioOne Complete BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of 200 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. BioOne Complete offers a cost-effective, curated collection of independently-published journals. More than three-quarters of the subscribed titles are ranked in Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports, and 45% are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete.
Birds of the World Welcome to Birds of the World, a powerful new resource that brings together scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology—Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds (originally published by the Cornell Lab) with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World (originally published by Lynx Edicions)—into one rich and colorful hub where you can find comprehensive, authoritative information on birds. With the integration of millions of bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library, Birds of the World is the most powerful ornithological resource ever created.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 Provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Covers over 300,000 books.
Book Review Index Plus Book Review Index Plus provides access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests. Thousands of publications are indexed, including journals and national general interest publications and newspapers.
BuildingGreen Suite Integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 250 project case studies. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.
Business Collection – Gale Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Business Insights: Global "For business professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and general researchers, Gale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context. It’s the first online resource that empowers people to not only study international business, but also to interpret their research. Deep intelligence powered by statistical data helps users spend less time searching for data – and more time connecting their discoveries to practical applications."
Business Source Premier A comprehensive, business database covering articles, many of them full-text, from scholarly journals and business periodicals, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Full text reports are also available for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
CABDirect - CAB Abstracts Archive "CAB Abstracts Archives (1900-1973). Subjects covered include animal science; crop protection; plant science; parasitology; human and animal nutrition; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products and agroforesty; soil science; rural development, tourism and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. Some full-text content is available on the CABDirect platform."
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities (Education) Includes the Cabell's Directories of Educational Curriculum and Methods and Education Psychology and Administration. Professors and graduate students in Education frequently use Cabell's Directories to assist them in publishing their manuscripts.
Chicago Manual of Style Online Provides searchable online access to the 17th (2017) and 16th (2010) editions of the standard style manual. Also includes Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide, and Chicago Style Q&A (editors' answers to questions submitted by readers, updated monthly).
Child Welfare Information Gateway Citations and abstracts of publications on the maltreatment, safety, permanency and well-being of children. Includes references to books, journal articles, final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Updated annually.
Chilton Library - Automotive Repair Database ChiltonLibrary provides photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, OEM maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
Choice Reviews Premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice for collection development and scholarly research. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews.
Chronicle of Higher Education Online Published online every weekday, the Chronicle is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
CIA: The World Factbook Annual publication covering countries of the world. Each entry includes a map as well as information in the following categories: Introduction, Geography People, Government, Economy, Communications, Transportation, Military, and Transnational Issues.
Civil Engineering Database Citations and abstracts to all ASCE publications including journal articles, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
Classical Music Library The Classical Music Library is a growing collection of over 1.2 million tracks for listening and searching supplemented by extensive reference materials. Approximately 2,000 new tracks are added each month. The service also includes thousands of program notes and hundreds of music playlists. The interface enables patrons to organize, create, save and share their own selections of music.
CLCD: Children's literature comprehensive database Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is the premier academic research and teaching tool for courses needing quality information for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over 2.6 million fiction/non-fiction records with 650,000+ national and international awards plus 540,000+ quality, professional reviews. It includes over 330,000 author/title links plus lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers 45 search-limiters to easily find appropriate materials such as: determining interest & reading levels; select trade books based on standards; create thematic, annotated biographies; interpret reviews; develop STEM book collections and more. Distant education students use a World Cat link to find materials at a local library. Students can set up their own My CLCD account to save their search assignments.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online An encyclopedia of geographical places and features. The entries include information on many of the following: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This database is the merger of two databases: CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
Communications & Mass Media Collection Communications and Mass Media Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) Computer Database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Computer Source Offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers citations and abstracts for over 350 publications. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Subset of Academic Search Premier. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Consumer Health Complete Contains full-text for more than 250 health reference books and encyclopedias, over 550 consumer health related periodicals, and numerous other types of information, including animations, videos, images, diagrams, and health reports.
Contemporary Women's Issues Contemporary Women's Issues is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press, with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Includes English-language titles from East and West Africa, Asia, and South and Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Europe, as well as often overlooked and hard-to-find newsletters and NGO research reports, plus ephemeral literature from leading research institutes and grass roots organizations that is rarely indexed or cataloged.
Coronavirus Research Database - ProQuest Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
CQ Researcher The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Contains more than 540,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Over 500 titles are now presented with cover-to-cover indexing The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts\' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
CRIS: Current Research Information System Summaries of current U.S. research projects in agriculture, food & nutrition, and forestry.
Digital Theatre Plus "Digital Theatre Plus provides over 1600 videos, including full-length video performances of Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, and musicals. Included in the subscription are interviews with cast and production, critical essays, audio plays, and study guides to help students understand plot, character, language, etc. Also includes technical theater videos. This streaming collection will benefit programs in theater, communication, and English literature. Highlighted production companies and venues in the collection include the Royal Shakespeare Company, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Association of British Theatre Technicians, Glyndebourne Opera House, and Shakespeare's Globe Theater. The Audio Play collection from LA Theater Works is also available through Digital Theatre Plus."
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (PQDT Global) PQDT-Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present, together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
E.V. Komarek Fire Ecology Database The Tall Timbers E.V. Komarek Fire Ecology Database provides access to bibliographic records in a unique, extensive collection of fire ecology and fire science literature. The donation of personal research collections from E.V. Komarek and H.L. Stoddard, founders of Tall Timbers, was the original impetus for the Tall Timbers Board of Trustees to mandate creation of a computerized bibliographic database. Since its inception in 1987, the database has been continually expanded under direction of the Tall Timbers librarian. Although international in scope, the database emphasizes the southeastern United States, the USA, and North America. Historical and current works are included.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection "The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments.
Ebsco Business Search This database enables a combined search of the Ebsco databases of Business Source Premier, Regional Business News,MasterFile Premier, Academic Search Premier, and Newspaper Source. For specialized reports on industries and companies such as the Datamonitor reports, please use the Business Source Premier database by itself.
Ebsco Ebooks Ebsco Ebooks platform presents a wide selection of academic e-books from top publishers and presses.
Ebsco Exploring Race in Society
Ebsco List of Databases Use this choice when you want to see the list of all available Ebscohost databases and wish to search more than one at once. A tutorial for basic searching of Ebsco databases can be found here
EDGAR Database of Corporate Information EDGAR (the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System) performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
Education Index Retrospective Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Educator’s Reference Complete This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
eHRAF World Cultures The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides access to the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, ECCO allows researchers new methods of access to publications in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements The federal government issues hundreds of environmental impact statements each year - and this one resource provides detailed abstracts of all of those statements, also indexing them for easy reference. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
ERIC (Ebsco) "ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational literature. •More than 1.6 million records •Links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents •Coverage dating back to 1966 •An education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho."
Europeana Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections by exploring images, full-text books, newspapers, letters, diaries, and archival papers, and historical audio and video recordings. Contributing institutions include the British Library, the Rijksmusuem, and the Louvre, among 1500 others.
Everyday Life & Women in America, c.1800-1920 Features thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature
Explora Educators Edition "The Educator’s Edition of Explora highlights content relevant to teachers, including lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho."
Explora Primary "Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features: • Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results • Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic • Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research • Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students • Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content • Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho."
Explora Secondary "Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features: • Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results • Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic • Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research • Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students • Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content • Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho."
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide combines databases on all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology. With excellent world coverage, this database includes research on aquaculture species ranging from culture and propagation to genetics, behavior, ecology and habitat. With over 1,150,000 citations and abstracts dating back to the 1970s, this resource is essential for those dealing with all aspects of fish and aquatic biology.
Fuente Academica Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia Over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLi (Libraries Linking Idaho).
Gale Directory Library This resource provides online access to reference resources; directories subscribed to by the University of Idaho.
Gale eBooks Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale Health and Wellness Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available.
Gale In Context: College "Introductory topic and research information for lower undergraduate term papers on a wide variety of popular topics. Gale In Context: College provides support for papers, projects, and presentations that reinforce development of academic skills like critical thinking and problem solving, communication, collaboration, and creativity and innovation. This knowledge portal offers an authoritative selection of overviews, primary sources, videos, images, and more."
Gale List of Databases This provides a listing of all the subscribed Gale databases. Many products are cross-searchable, but the ‘Additional Products’ listed toward the bottom of the page must be searched separately.
Gale Literature Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
Gale Primary Sources "Cross-search all available Gale digital archives from a single interface. Explore history through digitized, text-searchable primary sources. Discover new connections using Topic Finder and Term Frequency."
Gender Studies Collection Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
General OneFile General OneFile is Gale's largest general-interest database, serving as the public library's ultimate periodical resource, with more than 8,000 titles (most in full text with no embargo), many of which are recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries. We've included the reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
GeoRef Provides citations and abstracts of articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 - present; the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 - present. Includes all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Global Issues in Context "Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues In Context, Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics."
GreenFILE Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Grove Music Online "Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition (2002).
Health and Medicine (Gale One File) Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health Research Premium Collection "This database provides access to the latest medical information essential for medical students and researchers. Health Research Premium Collection offers a central access point to a variety of essential medical content. Consumer Health Database – consumer health; journal articles and magazines Health & Medical Collection – clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration; journal articles Healthcare Administration Database – journals and dissertations MEDLINE - U.S. National Library of Medicine Nursing & Allied Health Database - journals, video, dissertations, reference books Psychology Database Public Health Database Coverage: 1946-present"
Health Source: Consumer Edition With this consumer-health database, discover healthy nutritional guidelines or search for the latest treatments for cancer. Also contains several health books published by the People's Medical Society.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are citations and abstracts for nearly 650 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Updated daily. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Hein Online Includes Law Journal Library collection, containing nearly 370 of the top academic legal periodicals, as well as the Federal Register Library, containing pre-1981 coverage of the United States Federal Register. This is an image-based database with content identical to the print.
High Energy Physics Database Provides citations and some full-text of high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses.
Homeland Security Digital Library Over 169,400 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
Humanities & Social Science Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 Indexes approximately 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences with citations to more than 1,100,000 articles including book reviews. Covers the following print indexes: International Index (1907-1965), Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974), Humanities Index (1974-1984), and Social Sciences Index (1974-1983).
Humanities International Index Humanities International Index, is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Human Resources Abstracts Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 64,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Human Resources, Personnel Psychology, and Work & Occupations.
Idaho Digital Sanborn Maps More than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.
IEEE Xplore Provides access to full text IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, IEEE and IET conference proceedings, active IEEE standards.
IET Digital Library The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is an international publisher offering specialized engineering and technology content for students and practitioners. Subject areas include radar, power and energy, control engineering, telecommunications and the management and history of technology. The IET Digital Library provides access to over 475 eBooks from 1979-2016.
Indigenous Peoples: North America Indigenous Peoples: North America provides users with a source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada.
Informe Academico Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material--not simply translations of English-language materials--on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
Infotrac Newsstand InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
INIS The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) is the leading information source for scientific and technical literature published worldwide on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. INIS maintains a bibliographic database, entitled INIS Database, which currently contains over 2.4 million references with English abstracts from 1970 to the present. The Database is updated weekly.
Institute of Physics (IOP) Publications IOPscience is a platform for Institute of Physics-hosted journal content. This includes more than 100 titles covering different areas of science and engineering, which together provide access to more than 400,000 articles from 1874 to the present day.
International Studies Encyclopedia Over 400 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed essays of up to 10,000 words focusing on the most important topics and issues. Presented in an A-Z arrangement. Essays quickly bring readers up-to-date on the nature of the questions asked, past attempts at formulating responses, and the current state of debates.

IPA Source This link opens in a new window
IPA Source contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. The goal of IPA source is to promote the comphrehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. Translations into English from muliple languages.

Journal Citation Reports Summarizes citations from science and social science journals and proceedings in the Web of Science' database. It delivers detailed reports of their citation performance, their citation network, and the count and type of materials published.
JSTOR Complete image backfiles for over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The UI subscription includes all JSTOR titles with the exception of the Ireland Collection and 19th Century British Pamphlets. With a few exceptions, JSTOR titles do not include current issues. There is a moving wall of 3-5 years, depending on title, for which the latest issues are not available. Complete title list.
Kanopy Streaming Services "Kanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions that offers thousands of titles on a broad range of subjects including anthropology, architecture, art, gender & race, environment & sustainability, health, law, media, politics and psychology/sociology. University of Idaho has moved to a mediated access model for Kanopy content beginning in July 2019. More information about this change will be forthcoming. Recommended browsers: Chrome, Firefox, Safari"
LearningExpress Library Provides over 800 of the most up-to-date test-preparation and skill-building resources, helping students prepare for a wide range of academic and career-oriented exams, including GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT practice exams.
Legal Collection Containing full text for more than 300 law journals, this database is an authoritative source for information on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
LegalTrac LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Literary Index (for Gale publications) Master index to literary series published by Gale, including such series as Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Literary Criticism. Several of these series are owned by the UI Library and are found in the Reference Book section (1st floor). You must look in these reference books to see the full text of the information. You can search for information on authors and particular works.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) Literature Criticism Online provides online access to complete content from over 30 years of the Gale literary references Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, and Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) Literature Resource Center lets users explore biographical and critical information, historical context, and much more in a single search interface.
LitFinder LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
MasterFILE Premier Contains the full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also includes full text for nearly 500 reference books, 86,017 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an image collection of 341,655 photo, maps and flags.
MAS Ultra - School Edition Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating back as far as 1975 for key magazines. Also provides nearly 550 full text pamphlets, 150 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection "The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Coverage: 1965-present"
MathSciNet (AMS) Mathematical Reviews on the Web; citations to articles in mathematics publications.
MathSciNet (EBSCOhost) This electronic publication of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature. MathSciNet contains millions of items and direct links to original articles from over 1,800 journals. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s
MedicLatina A collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains the complete table of contents and PDF full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
MEDLINE A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles in health, human biology, medicine, veterinary science and related fields. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Internacional Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to English and Spanish-language tests.
MetaLib MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations in virtually every subject area while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Middle Search Plus Contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Military & Government Collection Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Association) Over one million citations to books, scholarly journals, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies from languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. 1926 - present.
Mometrix eLibrary (Praxis Guides) The Mometrix collection includes digital Praxis II subject study guides for core subjects in English, Math, Social Studies, Science and more. The e-collection supports the majority of Praxis II subject study guides University of Idaho students will need. Additional guides can be requested by contacting the Open Education Librarian.
Morningstar Investment Research Center "Morningstar Investment Research Center offers analysis of 1700 stocks, 2000 mutual funds and 300 exchange traded funds (ETFs). Also includes company reports written by Morningstar's experts, up to 10 years of financials, bond information, ratios, SEC filings and information on insider actions and institutional holders. Reports are available for the top 2000 companies but other information is available for many more. Some data can be exported to Excel. NOTE: Licensed access restricted to 2 simultaneous users"
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) This database provides information from the National Climatic Data Center, part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Included are climatic data from major airport weather stations, precipitation data, storm data, and Monthly Climatic Data for the World.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Citations and abstracts of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
Naxos Music Library Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to 125,000 CDs with nearly two million tracks, including both standard and rare repertoire. NML provides access to the complete Naxos catalogue, as well as the complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, Deutsche Grammophon, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Sony Classical, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics.
Naxos Music Library-Jazz Almost 199,000 tracks of jazz from over 16,650 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. (*As of August 2007) .
NBER Working Papers "The Working Papers contain the initial reports of NBER researchers in a series of scientific papers aimed at other professional economists around the world. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals. These papers have not gone through a review process. The database provides access to preliminary NBER research to encourage discussion and suggestions before final publication."
NetAdvantage - Standard and Poors In-depth company profiles on over 8,000 US public companies * Essential information on more than 100,000 companies including data on over 85,000 private companies * Analysis on over 15,000 funds based on Standard & Poor's Stars rating system * Reports on 50+ industries and 110+ sub-industries.
Newspaper Source Plus Indexes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.
Nexis Uni - formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic Containing more than 15,000 credible news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business, LexisNexis features company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
NIEHS Databases *Chemical Effects in Biological Systems (CEBS) *Comparative Toxicogenomics Database *Disaster Research Response (DR2) Resources Portal *Drug Matrix Database *Environmental Genome Project *Human DNA Polymerase Gamma Mutation Database *Integrated Chemical Environment (ICE) *Microarray Center cDNA Clone Search *Mouse Genome Resequencing Project *Nanomaterial Registry *Online Resource for Integrative Omics (ORIOS) *p53 Resources *Personalized Environmental and Genes Study (PEGS) *SNPinfo Web Server *Spin Trap Database
Novelist K-8 Plus Help young readers find just the right books for their reading levels and interests with the new Novelist K-8 Plus! Created by librarians and book-experts, this resource offers recommendations that you can trust.
NoveList Plus NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
OECD iLibrary The OECD's (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals. Best known for its publications and its statistics, the OECDs work covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics to trade, education, development, science and innovation.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Multiple resources covering today's hot social issues, such as offshore drilling, health care and immigration explore issues from all perspectives.
OSTI OSTI.GOV contains over 70 years of energy-related research results and citations collected by OSTI. It includes journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia funded by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today. This collection continues to grow as new scientific and technical information resulting from DOE research becomes available.
Oxford English Dictionary Includes the complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series. Also contains draft material from the current OED project, representing the latest progress towards a completely revised and updated Third Edition 'The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. . . It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.'
Oxford Reference Online Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross- searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers over 300 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
PapersFirst Citations to papers from published proceedings of conferences worldwide.
Philosopher's Index The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Plant Management Network Plant Management Network (PMN) is a not-for-profit online publishing effort jointly managed by the American Phytopathological Society, American Society of Agronomy and Crop Science Society of America, in conjunction with many other partners including scientific societies, agricultural universities, and agribusinesses.
Platino Educa Platino Educa is an innovative platform that uses cinema and other audiovisual materials as educational tools for both schools and universities. It is supported by more than 7,000 Spanish and Latin American producers and contains more than 240 pieces. It includes 70 of the ACADEMY OF CINEMATOGRAPHIC ARTS AND SCIENCES OF SPAIN’s list of 100 must-watch Spanish films for students. Along with guides that support teachers, many of which are available in Spanish and English. It is an initiative from EGEDA, the body of intellectual property rights management.
Primary Search Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
ProceedingsFirst Citations to published proceedings worldwide. In some cases, a list of the papers presented is included.
Professional Development Collection (for Educators) Professional Development Collection is a good place to search for full text articles in the field of education. Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of over 520 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, citations and abstracts are provided for nearly 600 journals.
Project MUSE Offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Includes basic and advanced search. Can browse by collection or journal title. Complete title list at: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/.
Project Muse eBooks (UPCC) Online access to over 13,700 e-books in the disciplines of History, Political Science, Archaeology & Anthropology, Ecology/Evolution, Education, and US Regional Studies.
PsycArticles Full text journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations. The PsycArticles database covers general psychology as well as specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 400 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, citation and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
PsycINFO Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage.
PTSDpubs This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
PubMed (Medline) The National Library of Medicine's search service, PubMed provides access to millions of citations and abstracts in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
PubMed Central Archive of Life Science Journals The U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of reviewed life sciences journal literature. It does not include any unreviewed research or pre-print articles. PubMed Central contains all the peer-reviewed primary research articles from every participating journal.
Rangelands Gateway Contains citations to more than 12,000 journal articles, reports, conference/symposium proceedings, and web & multimedia resources about the world’s rangelands. Through the Rangelands West portal you can find key information on North American rangelands. The Global Rangelands portal features Rangelands West resources plus those from Australia, parts of Asia, and Southern Africa. Also encompasses the Range Science Information System and the archives of both the Journal of Range Management (now Rangeland Ecology and Management) and the magazine, Rangelands.
Range Science Information System (RSIS) The Range Science Research bibliography has over 1,300 bibliographic citations to articles and documents focused on: riparian, weeds, rangeland, wildlife, vegetation and soils research.
Regional Business News Regional Business News provides full text access to over 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Religion and Philosophy Collection Covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers nearly 300 full text journals, including nearly 300 peer-reviewed titles. Subset of Academic Search Premier. Updated daily. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Covers all types of publications on music in all media. RILM includes over 570,000 records from 151 different countries, with over 33,000 new records added every year. Primary coverage is from 1967 to present with selected publications are indexed as far back as 1835.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Pop Culture in Britain and America, 1950-75 Featuring printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video clips, this resource examines key issues and events including youth culture, popular culture, changing lifestyles 1950-1975, civil rights, the space race, consumerism, the Vietnam Conflict, and nuclear disarmament.
Sage Journals Over 670 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology.
Sage Knowledge The SAGE Knowledge platform hosts more than 300 authoritative, award-winning, interdisciplinary handbooks and encyclopedias across the social sciences.
SAGE Research Methods SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.
SAH Archipedia This resource is an authoritative, peer-reviewed database of the built environment of the United States. It features narrative histories, photographs, and maps and includes buildings as well as landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, and artwork. Currently covers over 20,000 structures and places in all 50 states, with global content forthcoming; created by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press.
Science Citation Index The UI Library subscription to Web of Science contains Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.
Science Database - ProQuest This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
Science Direct Website for Elsevier science journals. The UI has subscription access to articles for over 2600 titles back to 1995. These titles are indicated by a green icon in the journal listing. Users may view tables of contents and abstracts from 'non-subscribed' journals.
Science in Context Science In Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
SciTech Premium Collection "The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Coverage: 1946-present"
Small Business Reference Center Includes access to nearly 400 full-text periodicals, 450 reference books, hundreds of business videos, and a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas. Of particular interest may be the state-specific resources and the Help and Advice sections. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Social Services Abstracts This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
SORA (Searchable Ornithological Research Archive) This archive provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This database provides specialized, editorially curated A&I resources critical to researchers with an academic, professional or personal interest in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology.
Springer Link SpringerLink is the world's most comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works. Coverage includes articles in the disciplines of biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. University of Idaho has full text access to over 2200 journals and 1400 ebooks in SpringerLink.
Statistical Abstract of the United States The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Swank Digital Campus "Swank offers streaming of feature films and documentaries produced by major Hollywood and independent studios. The library's license to Swank Digital Campus DOES NOT include public performance rights."
Teacher Reference Center Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
TOPICsearch This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in todays classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,000 articles from more than 475 diverse sources, including nearly 1,600 full text periodicals.
TOXLINE Citations and abstracts to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports in all areas of toxicology.
TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
U.S. Government Documents Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
U.S. History in Context "U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. U.S. History In Context is cross-searchable with World History In Context."
U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs 1832-1978 Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory Ulrichsweb.com is an authoritative knowledge base of information about more than 300,000 serials of all types from around the worldï¿½academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, online publications, newspapers and other resources. Bibliographic records provide details such as ISSN and title, publisher, online availability, language, subject area, abstracting & indexing coverage, searchable tables of contents, and full-text reviews.
UNData UNdata is a single entry point that allows users to access a large number of UN databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search.
Urban Studies Abstracts Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 46,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban Studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc.
Vocational and Career Collection Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries.
Vogue Archive Includes the entire archive of Vogue (US), beginning with the first issue in 1892. This searchable full-color database covers a number of subjects, including textiles and fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, photography and graphic design, marketing and advertising.
Water Resources Abstracts Citations and abstracts to journal articles and reports on many aspects of water, including hydrology, public health, fisheries, and climatology. Concentrates on water supply and water treatment and complements Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts.
Web of Science Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (1935 & earlier to present), produced by NISC, is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records many of which include abstracts. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and more. Approximately 18,000 records are added per year.
Wiley Online Library One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences.
World Bank Open Data The World Bank is providing free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe. Broader access to these data allows policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately.
WorldCat Citations for all material cataloged by thousands of OCLC member libraries books, journals, manuscripts, musical scores, videos, etc. Does not include individual articles in journals. If you're seeking a hard-to-find item (not article), this is the database. You can request an interlibrary-loan for an item online by clicking the ILL icon.
World History in Context World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.
World Scholar-Latin America & the Caribbean World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean provides a portal with access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.

Research Guides

Resources for Community Patrons : Databases

Databases for Community Patrons

A-Z Database List