Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Common Read 2021-2022: Grit: Reviews, Resources, and More

The 14th Common Read for the University of Idaho

Reading Resources

Some Library Resources

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 400 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, citation and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

PsycINFO

Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage.

Psychology

Need help? Reach out to Jylisa Doney (Social Sciences Librarian) for assistance.

Much Ado About Grit: A Meta-Analytic Synthesis of the Grit Literature

Journal of personality and social psychology, 2017-09, Vol.113 (3), p.492-511

Grit has been presented as a higher order personality trait that is highly predictive of both success and performance and distinct from other traits such as conscientiousness. This paper provides a meta-analytic review of the grit literature with a particular focus on the structure of grit and the relation between grit and performance, retention, conscientiousness, cognitive ability, and demographic variables. Our results based on 584 effect sizes from 88 independent samples representing 66,807 individuals indicate that the higher order structure of grit is not confirmed, that grit is only moderately correlated with performance and retention, and that grit is very strongly correlated with conscientiousness. We also find that the perseverance of effort facet has significantly stronger criterion validities than the consistency of interest facet and that perseverance of effort explains variance in academic performance even after controlling for conscientiousness. In aggregate our results suggest that interventions designed to enhance grit may only have weak effects on performance and success, that the construct validity of grit is in question, and that the primary utility of the grit construct may lie in the perseverance facet.

Book Reviews

The New York Times articles may be behind a paywall. The University of Idaho Library provides access to the New York Times. To access the articles, follow instructions on the UI NYT Access guide

Angela Duckwork on Her Book Grit