Sociology (SOC) 460 [Sarathchandra]: Locate Articles from Citations

We can use the following citation as an example:

Haltinner, K., & Sarathchandra, D. (2018). Climate change skepticism as a psychological coping strategy. Sociology Compass, 12(6), e12586. https://doi.org/10.1111/soc4.12586

Review the citation:

• Identify the title of article
  • Example: Climate change skepticism as a psychological coping strategy
• Identify the name of the journal where the article was published
  • Example: Sociology Compass
• Identify the year when the article was published
  • Example: 2018
• Identify the associated volume and issue of the journal
  • Example: Volume = 12, Issue = 6

Search the Library's catalog:

• Visit the University of Idaho Library's website
• Type the title of the article into the 'Search the catalog...' search box
  • Example: Climate change skepticism as a psychological coping strategy
• Click the magnifying glass or hit enter on your keyboard

Locate the full-text of the article:

• Find and click the correct article title in the results list
  • If the article does not appear in the results list, request the PDF for free via Interlibrary Loan
• Under 'View It', click the 'Full text available at' link that provides access to the correct year
  • Example: 2018
  • Example: Wiley Online Library All Journals
    • This database provides access to articles published between 2007 and present
• Enter your U of I - NetID if prompted
• Download the article PDF or read it online

Set Google Scholar library links:

• Visit Google Scholar
• Click the three parallel horizontal lines at the top of the page
• Click 'Settings' or the 'gear' icon
• Click 'Library Links'
• Type 'University of Idaho' in the search box 
• Click the magnifying glass or hit enter on your keyboard
• Check the box for 'University of Idaho - Univ of Idaho - Get it'
• Click 'Save'

You have now connected Google Scholar to the U of I Library's resources.

We can use the following citation as an example:

Sarathchandra, D., & Haltinner, K. (2020). Trust/distrust judgments and perceptions of climate science: A research note on skeptics’ rationalizations. Public Understanding of Science, 29(1), 53-60. https://doi.org/10.1177/0963662519886089

Review the citation:

• Identify the title of article
  • Example: Trust/distrust judgments and perceptions of climate science: A research note on skeptics’ rationalizations
• Identify the name of the journal where the article was published
  • Example: Public Understanding of Science
• Identify the year when the article was published
  • Example: 2020
• Identify the associated volume and issue of the journal
  • Example: Volume = 29, Issue = 1

Search Google Scholar:

• Visit Google Scholar
• Type the title of the article into the search box
  • Example: Trust/distrust judgments and perceptions of climate science: A research note on skeptics’ rationalizations
• Click the magnifying glass or hit enter on your keyboard
• Find the correct article title in the results list
• Click the 'Univ of Idaho - Get it' link next to the article title
  • If a 'Univ of Idaho - Get It' link is not available, request the PDF for free via Interlibrary Loan

Locate the full-text of the article:

• On the new page, under 'View It', click the 'Full text available at' link that provides access to the correct year
  • Example: 2020
  • Example: EBSCOhost SAGE Premier 2020
    • This database provides access to articles published between 1999 and present
• Enter your U of I - NetID if prompted
• Download the article PDF or read it online

If the "View It" box states that "a copy of this item is not available at the UI Library," request the PDF for free via Interlibrary Loan