LibGuides: Exploring the Information Landscape Workshop Series: Exploring the Outdoors in Idaho: Home

Welcome!

Photo courtesy of:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/brianswan/3495426285/sizes/m/in/photostream/

Things to consider

Questions to Ask:

Where should I go?
What type of activities do I like to do?
How much and what type of information do I need? How much time do I have to gather it?
Do I need to rent or purchase any equipment or hire a guide?
Do I need to get a permit?
What is my budget?

Related Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good general index to start your research. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Coverage: 1975-present for some periodicals
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Coverage: 1960-present
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, business database covering articles, many of them full-text, from scholarly journals and business periodicals, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Full text reports are also available for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational literature.
•More than 1.6 million records
•Links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents
•Coverage dating back to 1966
•An education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms

ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.

Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 400 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, citation and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
All full text publications included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. Subset of Academic Search Premier and overlaps our other psychology databases. Updated daily. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI (Libraries Linking Idaho).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage.
Weekly updates
Nearly 4 million bibliographic records
Indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed
Coverage dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
Authored and edited books and book chapters
Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
Publications from more than 50 countries
Journals published in 29 languages

Resources Available on Campus

UI Outdoor Rental Center
Offers a large inventory of rental equipment - tents, kayaks, canoes, SUP boards, sleeping bags, camping gear, climbing gear, snowboards, snowshoes, and more

Camping and Hiking Apps

All Trails
Campspot: RV & Tent Camping
Dyrt: Tent & RV Camping
FreeRoam: Campgrounds, Boondocking & RV Parks
Go Outdoors Idaho (the official mobile app of Idaho Dept. of Fish & Game)
HipCamp: Camping, RVs & Cabins
KOA: RV, Cabin & Tent Camping
Recreation.gov

Online Resources

Idaho State Parks & Recreation

Idaho Parks & Recreation Activities (ATVs, biking, birding, boating, camping, climbing, hiking, paddlesports, snowshoeing, and more)

Finding a Campground in Idaho

Finding a Park in Idaho

Rafting Permits

Finding Recreation Activities in the U.S. and Idaho

Visit Idaho (includes things to do, travel tips, planning a trip, maps & guides, and more)

Idaho Official Travel Guide

Idaho Fish & Game Licenses, Tags and Permits (Where, how and what to purchase to hunt, fish and trap)

Nearby Hikes or Trails:

Moscow Mountain

Elk River Falls

Kamiak Butte

Giant White Pine Trailhead

Hells Gate State Park

Chief Timothy Park

Phillips Park

McCroskey Memorial State Park

Klemgard Park (WA)

Swimming:

Hells Gate State Park

Chief Timothy Park

Boyer Park & Marina

Laird Park

Spring Valley Reservoir

Elk River Reservoir

University of Idaho Library Resources

University of Idaho Library Resources

Backpacking Idaho: from alpine peaks to desert canyons
Douglas Lorain
UI Library Main Stacks (4th Floor) GV199.42 .I2 L68 2008

Hiker's guide to Idaho
Ralph Maughan; Jackie Johnson Maughan
UI Library Main Stacks (4th Floor) GV199.42 .I2 M38 1990

Hike Lewis & Clark's Idaho
Mary Aegerter; Steve F. Russell
UI Library Main Stacks (4th Floor) F592.7 .A35 2002

Hiking Idaho: a guide to the area's greatest hiking adventures, 3rd ed.
Ralph Maughan
UI Main Library 2nd Floor Rolling Shelves - Travel Guides (GV199.42 .I2 M38 2001

Trails of the wild Selkirks: south of the Canadian border
Dennis Nicholls; Jim Mellen
UI Library Main Stacks (4th Floor) GV199.42 .W2 N52 2014

Librarian

Samantha Thompson-Franklin

Email Me

Contact:

Library 416M
University of Idaho Library
875 Perimeter Drive,
MS 2530
Moscow, ID, 83844

208-885-2531

Subjects: Business/Economics, Government Information

Research Guides

Exploring the Information Landscape Workshop Series: Exploring the Outdoors in Idaho: Home

Exploring Idaho Outdoors PowerPoint Presentation