Skip to main content

Research Guides

PEP 455 Design & Analysis of Research in Movement Sciences: Finding Articles

About Articles

Articles are found in journals, and journals are often found in databases. Different databases provide access to different journals. To the right is a list of databases relevant to athletic training students. 

The first section is a list of databases focused on medical and health issues. 

The second section is a list of databases focused on social science issues.  This set of databases can be useful if you are interested in an athletic training issue that intersects with psychology, education, or sociology. 

Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) vs. Popular Articles

Peer Reviewed (Scholarly or Refereed) Journal Articles

  • Reviewed and critiqued by experts in the author's field
  • Highly respected in academia
  • Have footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies
  • Usually include an abstract
  • Include author's credentials and institutional affiliation

Magazine Articles

  • Written for the general public
  • Contain advertising
  • Reviewed by editors
  • Limited references
  • Often For-Profit

Finding Full-Text

If you find an article in any database which is not available full-text, look for this icon: .

If you click on it, you will be taken through Article Linker, which is software that lets you know if full-text is available in one of the library's other databases. If the full-text is not found in one of our other databases, you will see a link taking you to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request the article. 

 

Library Databases for Movement Sciences

MEDICAL and HEALTH DATABASES

*Best choices for scholarly/peer-reivewed articles.

Consumer Health Complete

Contains full-text for more than 250 health reference books and encyclopedias, over 550 consumer health related periodicals, and numerous other types of information, including animations, videos, images, diagrams, and health reports.

*Medline (PubMed)

A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles in health, human biology, medicine, veterinary science and related fields. Many Medline articles are available only at other libraries and need to be ordered through interlibrary loan. Also see PubMed and FirstSearch Medline versions.

*Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are citations and abstracts for nearly 650 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Updated daily.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Health topics covered include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Searchable full text for nearly 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Updated daily. 

*Physical Education Index

Citations and abstracts to literature in the fields of physical education curricula, sports medicine, and dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.

*BIOSIS Citation Index

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. 

*Web of Science

The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 6.650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.


SOCIAL SCIENCE DATABASES

*PsycINFO

The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries.

*Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

*ERIC (from Ebsco)

The Education Resource Information Center from the U.S. Department of Education is the most comprehensive index to education literature. While the information can be accessed from the Department of Education’s website, the subscription version provided by EBSCO offers enhanced search and limiting options. ERIC includes peer reviewed journals, practitioner journals, lesson plans, unpublished working papers, dissertations, and more.

*Sociological Abstracts

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.