Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Conference Proceedings
When searching in the UI Library catalog, limit your search results to "Conference Proceedings" (under Resource Type).
Many databases link to full-text papers for proceedings. Look for a "Document Type" search field. Look for proceedings, abstracts, meeting abstract, conference papers, and proceedings as a document type to search for. If the database does not have a Document Type or similar field, or even if it does, it can be useful to use appropriate document type terms in the general search -- e.g. proceedings, meetings, papers, abstracts, symposia, congresses, expositions, etc. For examples, in Web of Science, limit your search to the Document Type "Meetings." In ProQuest databases, used the Advanced Search option and limit results to "Conference Papers" and or "Proceedings."
What is Grey Literatue
Grey literature is the unpublished, non-commercial, hard-to-find information that organizations such as professional associations, research institutes, think tanks, and government departments produce.
Searching for grey literature can be time consuming because it is not usually included in bibliographic databases. Therefore, knowing how to search correctly for grey literature can help you use your time as effectively as possible.
Always use the advanced search option when searching for grey literature. Doing so can save you valuable time by narrowing your search appropriately.
Reports and Reviews
Many organizations that conduct research produce reports of their findings that are never published but are accessible via their websites. These reports often include facts and analysis you may not find in other published materials. Below are a few websites for locating reports and reviews.