Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Agricultural/Bio Engineering Databases
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library
Fully searchable and browsable technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Includes: Annual Meeting Papers; Applied Engineering in Agriculture; ASABE Standards; Biological Engineering Transactions, Journal of Agriculture Safety and Health; Resource Magazine; Transactions of ASABE
CAB Direct (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau)
Our subscription includes CAB Abstracts (1973-current), Global Health (1973-current), and CAB Abstracts Archives (1900-1973). Subjects covered include animal science; crop protection; plant science; parasitology; human and animal nutrition; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products and agroforesty; soil science; rural development, tourism and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering.
Forest Science Info has been incorporated into CAB Direct.
Coverage: 1900 - present
The most comprehensive index in engineering with over 9 million references. The coverage is worldwide and includes all areas of engineering. Provides citations and abstracts of information from journals, books, conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports from companies. The UI Library subscribes to the backfile which adds coverage from 1884-1968.
Coverage: 1884 to present
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Major areas of coverage include aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology & engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, and risk assessment.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
NTIS serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. NTIS gives access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
Provides access to full text IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, IEEE and IET conference proceedings, active IEEE standards.
Coverage: 1988 present, with select content published since 1893
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library
Online access to more than 500 titles in "numerous content areas, including Bioengineering, Power & Energy, and Communication Technologies, among other growing areas of research".
Inspec is created by the IET (Institution of Engineering and Techology). Includes abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing and information technology. Containing over 11 million records, Inspec provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports. In addition to the core subject areas, Inspec also provides significant coverage of related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, and biomedical engineering.
Coverage: 1969 - present
Website for Elsevier science journals. The UI has subscription access to articles for 1,800 titles back to 1995. These titles are indicated by a green icon in the journal listing. Users may view tables of contents and abstracts from ’1,300 non-subscribed’ journals. Users who register may receive free table of contents alerts.
Web of Science
The UI Library subscription to Web of Science contains Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 6.650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
Search the Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, and more
Tips for Searching the Library Catalog:
Choose the search scope by selecting either UI + Summit + Articles (all materials); UI + Summit (items owned by UI and member libraries); or UI Library Only (items owned only by the UI Library).
Limiting your search: Start with a basic search and once you find a book that seems to be about your topic, you can use the format and/or other options located on the left to further narrow your search.
On the Advanced Search page, the year, language, and location (to name a few options) of items can be limited.
Subject headings can be a great way to narrow in on your topic.
UI Library Journal List by Subject
Finding Fulltext Articles
Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article. Look for this icon:
Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext.
You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.