LibGuides: Biology 114: Organisms & Environments: Additional Article Databases

Key Resources for Finding Articles in Biological Sciences

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's search service, PubMed provides access to millions of citations and abstracts in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of articles in journals published by Elsevier Science. UI journal subscriptions are indicated by a green icon in the journal listing.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed scientific information for over 700 species of birds breeding in the USA and Canada.
10,721 species accounts
9 free accounts every month
249 bird family accounts
500 million+ eBird observations
100,000+ research citations
21,000 color illustrations of every species, and many subspecies
Tens of thousands of media assets (photos, videos, and sound recordings) from the Macaulay Library
Range maps, eBird abundance maps, and animated migration maps
Avian taxonomy explorer
Ongoing updates
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians.
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide combines databases on all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology.

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Settings and click on "Library Links". Type "Idaho" in the search box, and select both "Univ of Idaho - Get it" and "Open WorldCat - Library Search". Click on Save. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full text access with your UI log-in. When searching Google Scholar click on the "Univ of Idaho - Get it" for full text access.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the Find It - Check for Full Text button.

You may be redirected to the article, the journal, the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need an article that's not available at the UI Library, use the library's free Interlibrary Loan service to request it.

You can also request books and other research materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Research Guides

Biology 114: Organisms & Environments: Additional Article Databases

Key Resources for Finding Articles in Biological Sciences

Google Scholar @ UI

Finding Full Text Articles

Interlibrary Loan