LibGuides: Food Science: Reference

Food Science Reference Resources, Handbooks, and Manuals

Most reference books are located in the reference section on 1st floor. Others can be found in the Main Stacks on 2nd-4th floors. Books are shelved using the Library of Congress Classification system.

The Oxford companion to American food and drink

Leung's encyclopedia of common natural ingredients : used in food, drugs, and cosmetics

Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
Main Stacks - TX349.B4 2006
The business of food : encyclopedia of the food and drink industries
Main Stacks - HD9000.5.B875 2007
Dictionary of food Compounds: Additives, flavors, and ingredients
Main Stacks - TP368.2.D53 2004
Dictionary of Food Ingredients
Main Stacks - TX551.I26 2001
The Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Ref TX349 .M266 2013
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Ref GT2850.E53 2003. Also available as e-book.
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
Main Stacks - QR115.E53 2000. Also available as e-book.
Encyclopedia of Food Safety
Available as e-book.
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
Main Stacks - TP368.2.E63 2003
Encyclopedia of junk food and fast food
Main Stacks - TX370.S63 2006
Encyclopedia of organic, sustainable, and local food
Main Stacks - HD9005.E645 2010
Food Additives Data Book
Main Stacks - TX553.A3F573 2003. Also available as e-book.
Food Analysis
Main Stacks - TX545.F54 2003
Food Chemicals Codex
Main Stacks - TX553.A3F66; Also available as e-book.
Food cultures of the world encyclopedia
Ref GT2850.F666 2011
Food Labeling--Requirements for FDA Regulated Products
Main Stacks - TX551.V48 2007
Handbook of Food Science, Technology, and Engineering
Main Stacks - TP370.4.H38 2006
International handbook of foodborne pathogens
Main Stacks - QR115.I57 2003
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Main Stacks - TP9.E685 2004
Leung’s Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients Used in Food, Drugs and Cosmetics
Main Stacks - QD415.A25L48 2010. Also available as ebook.
The Oxford companion to American food and drink
Main Stacks - TX349.O94 2007. Also available as e-book.
The Penguin Companion to Food
Ref TX349.D37 2002

Food Science: Subject Structure

Books are located on the 2nd (T-Z), 3rd (H-S), and 4th (A-G) floors organized by the Library of Congress Classification system.

Call Number Areas to Browse

Description	Call #
Agriculture	S
Plant and crop science	SB
Animal science	SF
Microbiology	QR
Toxicology	RA1190-1270
Immunologic diseases. Allergy	RC581-607
Nutritional diseases	RC620-627
Chemical technology	TP
Nutrition. Foods and food supply	TX341-641
Cooking	TX642-840

Research Guides

Food Science: Reference

Food Science Reference Resources, Handbooks, and Manuals

Food Science: Subject Structure