LibGuides: Plant Science: Reference

Plant Science Reference Resources, Handbooks, and Manuals

CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names: Common names, scientific names, eponyms, synonyms, and etymology
Ref QK13.Q38 2000

The reference section is located on the 1st floor of the library. Books are shelved using the Library of Congress Classification system.

Dirr's Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs
Ref SB435.D57 2011
Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences
TP248.16.E537 2003
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
Ref SB45.E486 2004
Hortus Third : a concise dictionary of plants cultivated in the United States and Canada
Ref, main stacks, and Herbarium SB45.B3 1976
Mansfeld's Encyclopedia of Agricultural and Horticultural Crops (except ornamentals)
Ref SB107.M38 2001
Pacific Northwest Plant Disease Management Handbook
Ref SB951.O72 and online
The A to Z of Plant Names: A quick reference guide to 4000 garden plants
Ref QK96.C78 2012
The Encyclopedia of Seeds: science, technology and uses
SB117.E455 2006

To find library items

Take a look at our library floor maps

Books are located on the 2nd (T-Z), 3rd (H-S), and 4th (A-G) floors organized by the Library of Congress Classification system.

Call Number Areas to Browse

Description	Call #
Botany	QK
Plant Anatomy	QK640-707
Plant Physiology	QK710-899
Soil Science	S591-599.9
Plant Culture	SB1-998
Specialized Methods	SB109.7-111
Irrigation Farming	SB112
Seeds. Seed Technology	SB113.2-118.46
Food Crops	SB175-177
Field Crops Agricultural meteorology. Crops & climate	SB183-317 S600-S600.7