Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Education - Leadership and Counseling: Finding Articles

This guide is designed to support students and faculty in the Department of Leadership and Counseling

How Do I Find Articles?

Articles are found in journals, and journals are often found in databases. Different databases provide access to different journals. To find education-related articles, you'll want to search in education-related databases.  The list to the right lets you know what education-databases that the University of Idaho Library subscribes to.  Please ask if you have any questions!

VIDEO Options: 

Finding the Education Databases

Finding a Known Journal Article

Scholarly vs. Popular


Peer Reviewed (Scholarly or Refereed) Journal Articles

  • Reviewed and critiqued by experts in the author's field
  • Highly respected in academia
  • Have footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies
  • Usually include an abstract
  • Include author's credentials and institutional affiliation

Magazine Articles

  • Written for the general public
  • Contain advertising
  • Reviewed by editors
  • Limited references
  • Often For-Profit

Library Databases for Finding Articles

ABI/INFORM Global

A comprehensive business database, ABI/INFORM Global includes the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels, including topics such as business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive landscape.

Business Source Premier

A comprehensive, business database covering articles, many of them full-text, from scholarly journals and business periodicals, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. 

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

The Cabell’s journal directory assists authors in their publication journey by providing an interactive, searchable database which covers 18 distinct academic disciplines from more than ten thousand international scholarly journals. It's purpose is to help researchers evaluate and select the most appropriate outlets for their work. 

ERIC (from Ebsco)

The Education Resource Information Center from the U.S. Department of Education is the most comprehensive index to education literature. While the information can be accessed from the Department of Education’s website, the subscription version provided by EBSCO offers enhanced search and limiting options. ERIC includes peer reviewed journals, practitioner journals, lesson plans, unpublished working papers, dissertations, and more.

Education Index Retrospective

Education Index Retrospective searches over 500 education-related periodicals from the time period 1929-1983.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Health topics covered include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. More than 190 full-text journals and indexing coverage for an additional 200.

Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition

Provides access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. 

Medline

A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles in health, human biology, medicine, veterinary science and related fields. 

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.

PsycINFO

Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection is a good place to search for full text articles in the field of education. Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, citations and abstracts are provided for nearly 600 journals.


Sage Full-Text Collections

Limit searches to a variety of Sage full-text management and organizational studies journals. Once in the database, click on "Advanced Search." Then use the "Select from a list of disciplines" radio button. Expand "Social Sciences & Humanities," and select "Management and Organizational Studies."  Enter your terms in the search boxes at the top, and click the blue "Search" box. 

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

 

Managing Your Sources