LibGuides: Child Development: Articles

Child Development Databases

Below are a sample of databases owned by the University of Idaho library, related to the subject of child development. For a full list of databases, visit Finding Articles.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
ERIC
ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational literature. The EBSCO version provides access to ERIC Document citations and ERIC Journal citations.
JSTOR
Complete backfiles for over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, mostly full-text. Open the "Advanced Search" link to search by keyword and limit by discipline.
Dissertations and Thesis Full Text
PQDT-Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world, together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
With this consumer-health database, discover healthy nutritional guidelines or search for the latest treatments for cancer. Health topics covered include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health topics covered include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Searchable full text for nearly 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Updated daily. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are citations and abstracts for nearly 650 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Updated daily.
PsychINFO
Scholarly index covering psychology and psychiatry which provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This collection offers over 500 full-text, scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Mental Measurements & Tests in Print
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.
Medline
A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles in health, human biology, medicine, veterinary science and related fields. Many Medline articles are available only at other libraries and need to be ordered through interlibrary loan. Also see PubMed and FirstSearch Medline versions.

CLCD: Children's literature comprehensive database
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is the premier academic research and teaching tool for courses needing quality information for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over 2.6 million fiction/non-fiction records with 650,000+ national and international awards plus 540,000+ quality, professional reviews. It includes over 330,000 author/title links plus lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers 45 search-limiters to easily find appropriate materials such as: determining interest & reading levels; select trade books based on standards; create thematic, annotated biographies; interpret reviews; develop STEM book collections and more. Distant education students use a World Cat link to find materials at a local library. Students can set up their own My CLCD account to save their search assignments.
Coverage: 1922-present
Users: Unlimited
Access type: UI Only

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

First time users: set up your ILL account (this need only be done once)
Returning users: log into your ILL account

Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
Enter your user name and password.
Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link:

You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Research Guides

Child Development: Articles

Child Development Databases

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

Finding Full Text Articles

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?