Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fulltext Pro/Con Resources
These resources provide excellent "point-of-view" discussion about issues that are in the news and that people argue about.
Each week focuses on a different issue that’s currently in the news. You can search by keyword or browse all reports by date or topic. There is usually a pro/con section, a bibliography, chronology, and links to related topics and websites.
Articles in Journals, Magazines, Newspapers and more
These are some of the most comprehensive databases available online. They cover all topics.
Academic Search Premier
A good general index to start your research. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Includes company financial information, industry and market news, foreign and U.S. newspapers, magazines and trade journals
Newspaper Source Plus
Indexes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.
Also contains nearly 913,000 television and radio news transcripts
What is Peer Review?
Peer-reviewed articles (also know as refereed) go through a process where they are analyzed by experts in a field before publication.
- articles are examined to evaluate the quality of research
- reviewers decide if the article adds to the content of the field
Articles can be scholarly (written and published for an academic audience), yet not go through the peer-review process.