The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. Funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau's International Programs Center for Demographic and Economic Studies
First place to look for historic government statistics. Browse by topic or search by keyword and find tables on nearly any topic. Follow the source information to learn where to look next for similar statistics or data. Also a great source to learn about the major data-collecting agencies and programs in the U.S. government.
Includes not only the decennial (10-year) census but also the Economic Census, the Survey of Business Owners, the American Community Survey, and other major data sets. Most searchers will want to start at the "American Factfinder."
The BEA tracks the GDP of the nation, provides access to state GDPs, reports on the state of national and international accounts, and tracks other data on the state of the US economy.
Provides access to the Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) data for the U.S. Census, International Censuses and the Current Population Survey. The Population Center also provides harmonized data from the U.S. National Health Interview Survey, and the American Time Use Survey.
The OECD's (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals. Best known for its publications and its statistics, the OECDs work covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics to trade, education, development, science and innovation.
UNdata is a single entry point that allows users to access a large number of UN databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search.
The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
The World Bank is providing free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe. Broader access to these data allows policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately.
There also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia and others, broadening understanding of global issues. This site is meant to provide all users with improved access to World Bank data and to make that data easier to find and use.
![University of Idaho Library [logo]](https://www.lib.uidaho.edu/media/images/ui_library_horizontal.png)