LibGuides: Accessibility Support in the Library: Accessibility Resources

Library Resouces

Adaptive Technology in the UI Library
An ATech computer lab is available in Room 418 on the 4th floor of the Library. The lab is supported by Information Technology staff in the UI Library.
Adjustable Table
Accessible computer station
Earphones
Elevator Access
Borrow a Magnifying Sheet
Magnify Your Computer Screen
Restrooms in the Library
Restrooms with accessible stalls are located on each floor of the Library. The 4th floor restrooms are equipped with mechanically operated entrance/exit doors.
Service Animals in the Library
The Library adheres to the University of Idaho Administrative Procedures Manual for Public Safety and Security, guidelines for Animals on Campus.

Campus Resources

UI Disability Support Services
The Center for Disability Access and Resources has a variety of specialized software programs and adaptive technology services that are available for use by students.
Assistive Devices on Campus
Information on the assistive device loan program through UI Disability Support Services.
UI Campus Accessibility Maps
Accessibility features for campus buildings and walkways.

Accessibility Support in the Library

The University of Idaho Library works together with the University's Disability Support Services to provide services and resources for persons with disabilities.

I f you have accessibility needs or concerns not addessed by this guide, please contact us at libref@uidaho.edu.

To view this page using a screen reader, click on Print Page (above) to get to the accessible version.

Printed Materials (books, journals, CDs, DVDs, maps)

Is there anyone available to help me find books and other materials in the libraries?

A reference librarian will assist students with accessibility needs by retrieving materials between the hours of 9am to 5pm, Monday through Friday, and 3pm - 7 pm on Sunday. Requests for assistance will be handled as soon as possible after a request has been submitted.

Can the library scan journal articles and book chapters for me?

Yes. You can request a copy of a journal article or book chapter to be scanned and emailed to you.

Can I get help with my research?

You can schedule an appointmentwith a reference librarian to discuss your individual needs for assistance with research in the UI Library.

Electronic Materials (article databases, ebooks)

JAWS Reader works with some databases, and some databases have audio capibilities . Links to instructions and accessbility tools in various electronic resources are below:

Bookshare.org
Online community that enables people with visual and other print disabilities to legally share scanned books. Access to digital books, including textbooks, literature, current popular reading, teacher recommended reading, reference materials, newspapers, and periodicals.
EBL ebooks
The EBL portal is designed to be navigated by users with visual disabilities. EBL ebooks are also enabled with read-aloud functionality within Adobe Acrobat and EBL’s online reader.
Ebrary ebooks
To assist visually-impaired users, ebrary can be displayed in a screen-readable, text-only mode that works with a user’s own text-to-speech program, such as JAWS.
EBSCO databases (Academic Search Premier and others)
Accessibility features in EBSCO databases.
JSTOR database
Accessibility features in JSTOR.
Proquest databases (Theses & Dissertations and others)
Accessibility features of Proquest databases.

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
The books are in html, which would be readable by screen readers.

Science Direct database
Accessibility features in Science Direct.
Springer ebooks
Springer ebooks are available in PDF and are text-searchable, usually have headings, work with screen readers and can be printed or enlarged.
Web of Science database
Web of Science can be navigated using a screen reader. In the main search box, type your search terms in the “Editable field”; this field usually starts with text such as “Example: oil spill” or another example search term.

Contact

Rochelle Smith

Email Me

Contact:

rsmith@uidaho.edu

208.885.7850

Office: Library, 416S

Subjects: English, Foreign Language, History, Literature, Music, Philosophy & Religious Studies

Tips for Library Staff

ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) homepage

Pointers on how to foster a positive library experience for patrons and staff who have accessibility issues.

Library Services to Patrons with Print Disabilities (ACRL)
Report from the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Joint Task Force.
Interacting with patrons who have accessibilty needs
Addresses many a wide range of accessibility need. Provided by the United Spinal Association.
Library Services for People with Disabilities (ALA)
ALA-approved policy written by the Americans with Disabilities Act Assembly, a representational group administered by the ASCLA.
Library Accessibility –What You Need to Know”
Toolkit containing 15 tip sheets to help librarians understand and manage a wide variety of access issues. .
How People with Visual Disabilities Surf the Web

Research Guides

Accessibility Support in the Library: Accessibility Resources