LibGuides: ISEM 301: The Holistic Athlete: Finding Articles / Library Databases

Library Databases - Starting Points

Academic Search Premier
A good general index to start your research. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.

Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Coverage: 1975-present for some periodicals
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.PDF files are available for full issues dating back to January 1996; for issues published since January 2001, PDF files are in color.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Multiple resources covering today's hot social issues, such as offshore drilling, health care and immigration explore issues from all perspectives.

Includes: * More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays * 5,000+ topic overviews * More than 300 primary source documents * 300 biographies of social activists and reformers * More than 775 court-case overviews * 5 million periodical articles * Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs * Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search * Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs * A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline New reference content is added on an ongoing basis, and new full-text periodical and newspaper articles are added every day.

Need Help?

Call: (208)885-6584)
Email: libref@uidaho.edu
Text: (208) 449-0841
Meet: Make an appointment

Library Databases - Health / Nutrition

AltHealthWatch
This alternative health database provides full text for more than 160 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Consumer Health Complete
Contains full-text for more than 250 health reference books and encyclopedias, over 550 consumer health related periodicals, and numerous other types of information, including animations, videos, images, diagrams, and health reports.

Content covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream wellness to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Important: Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
Health & Wellness Resource Center & Alternative Health Module
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases.
MEDLINE
A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles in health, human biology, medicine, veterinary science and related fields. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period.

Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Use the UI Library's Interlibrary Loan ( ILL) service when you need an article that is not available at the library. Go here for info on how to create an ILL account to request an article.

Using Google Scholar

If you want to use Google Scholar, go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links." Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search." Scroll down and save changes. This allows Google Scholar to cross-check our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Library Databases - Psychology / Sociology

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 400 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, citation and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

All full text publications included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. Subset of Academic Search Premier and overlaps our other psychology databases. Updated daily. Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI (Libraries Linking Idaho).
PsycINFO
Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage.

Weekly updates
Nearly 4 million bibliographic records
Indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed
Coverage dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
Authored and edited books and book chapters
Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
Publications from more than 50 countries
Journals published in 29 languages
Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

Research Guides

ISEM 301: The Holistic Athlete: Finding Articles / Library Databases

Finding Articles in Library Databases