It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse books related to Sports (GV557‑1198.995) in the Main Stacks (4th floor) or the Reference Section (1st floor). Search for books and ebooks using the UI Library catalog search box (www.lib.uidaho.edu).
Encyclopedias (Books in Print)
Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics by Jack L. Murray; Emily O. Watson
Call Number: GV558.E525 2012 (Main Stacks)
Routledge Handbook of Ergonomics in Sport and Exercise by Youlian Hong (Editor)
Call Number: RC1235 .R66 2014 (Main Stacks)
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society by Rodney P. Carlisle (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Elizabeth H. Oakes
Call Number: RC1206.O355 2005 (Main Stacks)
Handbook of Sport Psychology by Gershon Tenenbaum (Editor); Robert C. Eklund (Editor)
Call Number: GV706.4.H37 2007 (Main Stacks)
The Complete Guide to Sports Nutrition by Anita Bean
Call Number: TX361.A8B42 2003 (Main Stacks)
Search the Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, and more
Tips for Searching the Library Catalog:
Choose the search scope by selecting either UI + Summit + Articles (all materials); UI + Summit (items owned by UI and member libraries); or UI Library Only(items owned only by the UI Library).
Limiting your search: Start with a basic search and once you find a book that seems to be about your topic, you can use the format and/orother options located on the left to further narrow your search.
On the Advanced Search page, the year, language, and location (to name a few options) of items can be limited.
Subject headings can be a great way to narrow in on your topic.
eBooks and eReference
Electronic reference sources are excellent starting points for your research. Ebooks can be accessed through our library catalog . You will be prompted to log in with your Vandal Net ID and password to access the library's electronic resources.
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross- searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers over 300 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
The Premium Collection is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.