Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Image Resources
Flickr: Creative Commons
A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Images from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
U.S. Government Photos and Images
A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.
Shared Shelf Commons
An open-access database of image collections shared by institutional users of Shared Shelf.
Providing access to the visual collections of the Wellcome Library, which documents "2000 years of human culture" with a focus on biomedical imagery. Most images are open access, with others available for paid licensing.
Images from public and private collections around the world. Users can find images by searching or browsing by geography, collection, classification, or time period, and share, upload, and manage images. Be sure to create an account to get the maximum benefit from this rich resource.
Getty Open Content Images
Search over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download.
Open Video Resources
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Over 1.5 million digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.
The Open Video Project
A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purposes.
Art History Teaching Resources
A peer-populated platform for art history teachers. Has a few museum videos in connection with specific classes, mostly teaching materials. Very well curated.