It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for finding company reports at the UI Library
A ticker symbol is the code used to facilitate securities trading on an exchange like the New York Stock exchange or NASDAQ. Finding a ticker symbol is useful in company research for two reasons.
1. It confirms the company is publicly traded.
2. Because ticker symbols are carefully controlled you know that any source that includes that ticker symbol is definitely talking about that company. For instance, there are dozens of companies named Kraft, and even more than one Kraft Foods (in other countries). If you search for the ticker KRFT using advanced search in our databases, you know that every result is about the Kraft Foods that makes the mac and cheese and American cheese slices.
A good resource for finding ticker symbols. For our databases you are almost always looking for the United States ticker symbol.
The importance of being publically traded
Publically traded companies have all kinds of disclosure requirements dictated by the Securities and Exchange Commission. That is good for your research because it means most of the information you need is easily available through library databases or out on the web.
Private companies are just that, private. They don't have to disclose very much information and so most don't. Even the ones you think are warm and fuzzy. You may be able to cobble together enough information through newspaper and magazine articles but it will involve a lot more work on your part and you still may not get all the information you need.
Checking for a ticker symbol from the link above or looking a company up in Lexis-Nexis are the best ways to determine if a particular company is publically traded. You can make some informed guesses though.
1. Publically traded companies are usually giant and produce many products or provide many services that are household names acroos the country.
2. Private companies are usually smaller, focus on a regional or local market, and probably specialize in just one or two areas.
A comprehensive, business database covering articles, many of them full-text, from scholarly journals and business periodicals, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Full text reports are also available for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.
On the BSP homepage click on the Company Profiles link.
For business professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and general researchers, Gale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context.
It’s the first online resource that empowers people to not only study international business, but also to interpret their research. Deep intelligence powered by statistical data helps users spend less time searching for data – and more time connecting their discoveries to practical applications.
• 193 profiles of UN-recognized countries
• 300 sources of investment and brokerage reports
• 1,000 SWOT reports
• 2,000 case studies
• 2,300 corporate chronologies
• 4,200 full-text periodicals
• 11,500 market research reports
• 15,000 company histories
• 50,500 articles from Market Share Reporter
• 465,000 company profiles and 2,000 industry profiles
• Plus thousands of interactive charts; interactive metrics from the World Bank; and country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit and Dun & Bradstreet
Enter company name or ticker symbol in search box.
Use the Companies tab dropdown to pick a specific type of information related to your company.
In-depth company profiles on over 8,000 US public companies * Essential information on more than 100,000 companies including data on over 85,000 private companies * Analysis on over 15,000 funds based on Standard & Poor's Stars rating system * Reports on 50+ industries and 110+ sub-industries.
Hover over the Companies tab at the upper left (in blue).
Containing more than 15,000 credible news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business, LexisNexis features company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
Below search box, in Guided Search box, click Company Info.
Enter name of company in search box to the right.
Select the type of information you want under the "...and show me" box.
What to do if you still can't find a report on your company
The #1 cause of not being able to find a report on a company is that it is not publicly traded. If you can, the best thing to do is switch to a publically traded company.
Try searching for the relevant industry report and see if there are links to or mentions of your company. A common problem is that your company is actually a subsidiary of a parent with a different name.
ABI/Inform and Lexis-Nexis may have newspaper or magazine articles about your company. You may be able to extract some useful information.
Use Google Scholar to search for any recent scholarly papers, theses, dissertations or books that may have been written about your company.
If you find a report that you would have to pay for on the Web, check with the Library first to see if we can get it for you via interlibrary loan.
At any step in the process, feel free to contact the reference desk (firstname.lastname@example.org, 208-885-6584) for assistance.
The Find White Papers Research Library is an industry-leading source of knowledge and information. We are continually expanding our library to deliver information that provides insight and education, helping professionals determine the proper solutions for their business needs.
OnlineWhitepapers.com is a massive whitepaper library full of research and knowledge enrichment for tech-hungry professionals. We host over a thousand (and growing) in-depth B2B whitepaper PDFs and videos authored by major companies and influencers in several industries.
The site delivers a unique blend of original content by IT professionals, peer-to-peer advice from the largest community of IT leaders on the Web, and a vast library of professional resources from the leading vendors in the IT industry. TechRepublic features blogs, community forums, vendor white papers, software downloads, Webcasts, and research.