Data and Statistics - NRS 310 - Social Science Research Methods

Idaho Data

Indicators Idaho
Data presented at Indicators Idaho come from a wide range of public sources. At the federal level, these sources include the U.S. Census Bureau, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, and U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, to name just a few. Some of our indicators – such as teen birth rates and mothers who receive late or no prenatal care – come from state sources.
Idaho At A Glance
The Idaho at a Glance series presents complex information in a brief, easy to understand format. From the University of Idaho Office of Community Partnerships.
Idaho Population Data Tables (US Census Bureau)
Idaho Labor Market Information (ID Dept of Labor)
Idaho Statistics Update (UI Library)
Historical Statistics for Idaho
Idaho Recreational Data (GIS)
Waste Management in Idaho (Dept. of Env. Quality)
Economic Indicators of Idaho
Idaho Dept. of Commerce

Climate Data

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) This link opens in a new window
This database provides information from the National Climatic Data Center, part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Included are climatic data from major airport weather stations, precipitation data, storm data, and Monthly Climatic Data for the World.

Geospatial Data

Human Dimensions/Demography Data

US Census Bureau
US GAP Analysis - Protected Areas Database
NOAA - Human Dimensions Data Directory
EOSDIS - Human Dimension Data sets
Earth Institute - Socioeconomic Datasets
USDA Economic Research Service
Food Use, Agriculture, Nutrition
US EPA - Wastes Homepage
Resources relating to production and treatement of waste in the United States.
Local Market Audience Analyst
This marketing database offers demographic, lifestyle, and market potential information.
more...less...
UI-restricted database.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Citing Datasets

If you are following a particular style, try to form the citation according to the general rules of that style. If in doubt, it is better to provide more information than less.

The general parts of a data citation are:

1. Responsible Party;

2. Title of dataset;

3. Edition or version of dataset, if applicable;

4. Name and location of data center, repository, or publisher;

5. Date published;

6. Analysis software, if required;

7. Date accessed;

8. URL, DOI or other persistent link;

9. Parameters selected, if applicable

Alternately, Mark Parsons from the NCAR Library suggests this:

Author(s). ReleaseDate. Title, Version. [editor(s)]. Archive. Locator (such as DOI). [date/time accessed]. [subset used].

More information, examples, and thoughts on citing datasets can be found here.

Soil, Vegetation, and Land Use Data

Forestry Inventory and Analysis National Program (USFS)
Urban Forest Data (USFS)
Public Land Statistics (BLM)
ForesSTAT (UN FAO)
LANDFIRE (USGS)
Global Change Master Directory - Land Surface
Oak Ridge National Lab - Vegetation Collections (ORNL-DAAC)
Vegetation collections data include: biomass, biome characteristics, litter chemistry and decomposition, geoecology, nutrient concentration profiles and turnover, global fire emissions, vegetation, and Leaf Area Index (LAI), ecosystem Structure and Function, phenoregions, carbon flux
Oak Ridge National Lab - Soils Collections (ORNL-DAAC)
The ORNL DAAC Soil Collections archive contains data on the physical and chemical properties of soils, including: soil carbon and nitrogen, soil water-holding capacity, soil respiration, soil texture.
International Multiproxy Paleofire Database (NOAA)
Wood Hole Research Center Datasets
Datasets available include the National Biomass and Carbon Dataset 2000 (NBCD) and the Large-Scale Biosphere-Atmosphere Experiment (LBA).

Research Guides

NRS 310 - Social Science Research Methods: Data and Statistics