Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Primary Sources: Locating Primary Sources in the UI Library

Primary Sources in the Library Catalog

The search box on the main library webpage is a good place to begin looking for primary sources. Enter your search terms followed by the appropriate type of primary source you are seeking.

You can limit further by "Genre" on the left side of the page.

If you still need help, contact your subject librarian.

Primary Sources in Special Collections & Archives

Primary source materials in the UI Library's Special Collections & Archives include correspondence, memoranda, diaries, ledgers, financial papers, photographs and other records that support research into nearly all facets of the history of Idaho and the Pacific Northwest.

  • Political and Civic
  • Mining
  • Lumbering
  • Natural Resources and the Environment
  • Business
  • Literature and Religion
  • North Idaho, Latah County and Moscow
  • The University of Idaho

Finding Aids are available for locating information in our research collections.

Many primary source materials have been digitized and are availalbe online through the library website. The UI Library's Digital Initiatives digitally preserve institutional, local and scholarly material and resources.

Government Documents in the UI Library

As a Regional Depository for U.S. Government Documents for the state of Idaho, the UI Library collections consists of hundreds of thousands of paper documents, microforms, maps,CD-ROMs, and online publications.

U.S. Government Documents can be located using the library catalog. Limit to "UI Library Governement Documents Collection" on the left side of the results page.

 |
If you need help locating a document in the collection, ask a librarian.

Primary Sources in the Article Databases

Below are a sample of databases owned by the UI Library that are good for finding primary sources. For a full list of databases, visit Finding Articles.

Maps in the UI Library

An extensive collection of print and digital maps are available in the UI Library. Most maps can be found by using the library's catalog. Add the word "map" to your search terms.

Print maps are located in the Map Room. Hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. with weekend hours available by appointment.

The Digital Map Collection is available online and can be accessed around the clock.

Newspapers in the UI Library

Current issues of local, state and national newspapers are available in print on the 2nd floor of the UI Library. Many older and historical newspapers from the library's collection are available on microfilm (on reels) and microfiche (sheets), located on the 2nd floor of the libray.

If you are looking for an article from an older or historical newspaper that is not part of our collection, search the library's electronic newspaper archives and databases, listed below. For off-campus access, log in with your NetID and password. Limit your search results to Newspapers.

Some websites also provide links to digitized newspaper archives. For suggestions, check out our links to Older, Historical Newspapers on the Web.

If you are looking for full online access to current news articles in national newspapers, the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are available electronically to UI affiliates.

For even more information, see our Guide to Newspaper Resources.