Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

ISEM 101: Creative Minds and Jupiter, Venus and Mars: Reference sources

This guide provides tips for finding biographical information for the essay assignment.

Selected Biographical Reference Resources

Below are SOME of the biographical reference books on 1st floor that may be helpful (in call number order):

Current Biography Ref CT100.C8                                                Good for popular or newsworthy people back to 1940.  Yearly volumes.  Use the 10 year indexes to determine which volume a person's biography is in
Encyclopedia of World Biography Ref CT103.E56 1998 Includes very famous and primarily historical people
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Ref CT103.Z9B5  Use this to determine in which of many biographical sources you might find biographical information about a person.  The UI Library does not own all of the sources listed.
American National Biography Ref CT213.A68 Includes historically famous Americans
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice Ref HM671.E53 2007

Includes biographical information about people who are famous for their activism

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender Ref HQ16.E52 2007

Includes some biographies of noteworthy people

The 100 Most Influential Women of All Time Ref HQ1121.A14 2010

Historical Women

American Men and Women of Science Ref Q127.U6A4 2003

Short biographies of accomplished current scientists

A Century or Nobel Prize Recipients Ref Q141.C252 2003

Brief biographies of the people and their accomplishments

Notable Scientists from 1900 to the present Ref Q141.N728 2001

Medium length biographies with short lists of references

American Women of Science Since 1900 Ref Q141.W42 2011

About Reference Resources

Why for an overview of your topic. These items usually contain background information and bibliographies (which direct to other sources).
Where 1st floor reference collection, reference databases
How begin with a broad topic search

Electronic Library Reference Sources