Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Orientation: Getting to know the UI Library: Resources & Services

Learn about the library, its people, resources and services.

Reference Desk

Need help with your research? Can't find a book on the shelf? Looking for directions around campus? Stop by the Reference Desk!

Semester hours are Monday-Thursday 9am to 9pm, Friday from 9am. to 5pm, and Sunday from 1pm to 9pm.

Telephone: 208-885-6584
Email: libref@uidaho.edu
Text: 208-449-0841
Instant Messaging 

The Reference Department also offers one-on-one research meetings with a librarian through our Research Assistance Program.  
For more information, visit the Reference Services webpage. 

Government Documents

The UI Library is the Regional Depository for U.S. Government Documents for the state of Idaho. This comprehensive and unique collection offers free access to more than 1.7 million items to all users.

For more information about government documents, visit the Government Information guide.

University of Idaho Library Cartographic Collections

Whether you are looking for the most up-to-date geospatial information or a unique visual aid for a history presentation, the University of Idaho Library Cartographic Collections have a number of resources for you to use!

The Map Room Hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. with weekend hours available by appointment. Digital Collections are available around the clock.

For more information about the Cartographic Collections, visit the Map Resources guide. 

Other Libraries

In addition to the materials in the main library, UI has several subject-specific libraries throughout campus. Other campus libraries include:

UI students also may check out materials from the Washington State University library in Pullman, WA. Other local sources include the Moscow Public Library and the Neill Public Library.

In addition, the UI Library has partnerships with multiple libraries in the Pacific Northwest through the Summit: Orbis Cascade Alliance and worldwide through WolrdCat Libraries.

For further information about access to other libraries and a complete list of partnering institutions, visit the Other Libraries webpage.  

Our Collections

The collections of the University Library are distributed throughout the facility. There are over 1.4 million volumes (and counting) in our physical collection, as well as hundreds of online databasesebooksdigital collections which can all be accessed from our library website. Physical resources in the library items are arranged by Library of Congress classification, which means they are organized alphabetically by subject codes. Here is a breakdown of subject ranges by floor.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives collects and preserves rare and valuable materials that document the history of Idaho and surrounding areas. Collections include manuscripts, personal correspondence, business records, photographs, and more. Materials do not circulate but are open for research to faculty, students, and visiting scholars.For more information, contact Special Collections and Archives.

Digital Initiatives

The Digital Initiatives department preserves and makes accessible collections from UI and the state of Idaho. Popular projects include:



Digital Initiatives has many on-going projects and new collections are added regularly. To see a full list and to access collections, visit the Digital Initiatives webpage. 

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service obtains materials not owned by the University of Idaho Library for UI students, faculty and staff. We also lend UI materials to other libraries. Through cooperative lending agreements with libraries throughout the world we provide access to millions of items not available locally. First time users can create an account to request an item through Interlibrary Loan by submitting a registration form online.  

Course Reserves

Course Reserves are electronic and print materials that have been identified by the instructor to supplement the course textbook. Print materials can be obtained at the Reserves Desk on the 1st floor; electronic materials require a password (supplied by the instructor).