Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Ebooks : Free Ebooks Online

Free Ebook Resources

VENDORS      INFO LIMITATIONS

BHL is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).

Download to eReader: Yes

PDF: Yes

DRM: None

Max Simultaneous Users: Unlimited    

User Account Required: No

Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose from among free epub books or Kindble books and download or read them online. All ebooks are free in the United States because their copyright has expired. 

Download to eReader: Yes

PDF: Yes

DRM: None

Max Simultaneous Users: Unlimited   

User Account Required: No

Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. 

Download to eReader: Yes

PDF: Yes

DRM: None

Max Simultaneous Users: Unlimited  

User Account Required: No

     HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. More than 10 million total items have been added although not all are available for free. To find those that are, click "Full View Only" prior to searching. 

Download to eReader: No

PDF: Some

DRM: Some

Max Simultaneous Users: Unlimited 

User Account Required: No

The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. The collection includes more than 4600 children’s books in 61 languages. 

Download to eReader: No

PDF: No

DRM: None

Max Simultaneous Users: Unlimited 

User Account Required: No