Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Education - Movement Sciences: Finding Health/Medical Articles

This guide is designed for students and faculty in the Movement Sciences department.

How Do I Find Articles?

Articles are found in journals, and journals are often found in databases. Different databases provide access to different journals. To find health, sports, or education-related articles, you'll want to search in health, sports, or education-related databases.  The list to the right lets you know what education-databases that the University of Idaho Library subscribes to.  Please ask if you have any questions!

Scholarly vs. Popular


Peer Reviewed (Scholarly or Refereed) Journal Articles

  • Reviewed and critiqued by experts in the author's field
  • Highly respected in academia
  • Have footnotes, endnotes, or bibliographies
  • Usually include an abstract
  • Include author's credentials and institutional affiliation

Magazine Articles

  • Written for the general public
  • Contain advertising
  • Reviewed by editors
  • Limited references
  • Often For-Profit

Search Physical Education Index

Search Physical Education Index for articles about Dance and other related subjects.

Library Databases for Finding Articles

Alt Heath Watch 

This alternative health database provides full text for more than 160 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. 

CAB Direct

CAB Direct is the most thorough and extensive source of reference in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. CAB Direct provides a convenient, single point of access to all of your CABI database subscriptions.

ERIC (from Ebsco)

The Education Resource Information Center from the U.S. Department of Education is the most comprehensive index to education literature. While the information can be accessed from the Department of Education’s website, the subscription version provided by EBSCO offers enhanced search and limiting options. ERIC includes peer reviewed journals, practitioner journals, lesson plans, unpublished working papers, dissertations, and more.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Health topics covered include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Searchable full text for nearly 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Updated daily.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are citations and abstracts for nearly 650 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Updated daily.

Medline/Pubmed (Ebsco) 

A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles in health, human biology, medicine, veterinary science and related fields. Many Medline articles are available only at other libraries and need to be ordered through interlibrary loan. 

Physical Education Index

Citations and abstracts to literature in the fields of physical education curricula, sports medicine, and dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. 

PsycINFO

Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates

Science Direct

Website for Elsevier science journals. The UI has subscription access to articles for 1,800 titles back to 1995. 

Web of Science

The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 6.650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. 

 

 

Subject Guide

Kristin Henrich's picture
Kristin Henrich
Contact:
208.885.6514

khenrich@uidaho.edu

Managing Your Sources