LibGuides: Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology: Article Databases

AERS Article Databases

Below are a sample of databases owned by the University of Idaho library. For a full list of databases, visit Finding Articles.

Agricola
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, primarily covering the subjects of agriculture, plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition.
AgEcon Search
Created and maintained by the University of Minnesota, AgEcon Search is a free-to-user Web site that contains the full text of working papers, conference papers and journal articles in applied economics, including the subtopics of agricultural, consumer, energy, environmental, and resource economics. Contributors include academic institutions, government agencies, professional associations, and non-government organizations.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.

CABDirect - CAB Abstracts Archive This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts Archives (1900-1973).
Subjects covered include animal science; crop protection; plant science; parasitology; human and animal nutrition; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products and agroforesty; soil science; rural development, tourism and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. Some full-text content is available on the CABDirect platform.

EconLit
The American Economic Association’s electronic bibliography, EconLit indexes from 1999-present for public use. Compiled and abstracted in an easily searchable format, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.

Business and Economics Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
Offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. Provides information about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,890 publications, with more than 1,920 available in full text.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, business database covering articles, many of them full-text, from scholarly journals and business periodicals, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Full text reports are also available for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. - Access funded by the State of Idaho through LiLI - Libraries Linking Idaho.

Lexis Nexis
Sub-set of the full Lexis-Nexis database with the full-text of articles in news, business and legal information. Includes company financial information, industry and market news, foreign and U.S. newspapers, magazines and trade journals, federal and state case law, accounting information, medical news and abstracts, law reviews, state and country profiles.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
This database provides in-depth company profiles on over 8,000 US public companies, essential information on more than 100,000 companies including data on over 85,000 private companies, analysis on over 15,000 funds based on Standard & Poor's Stars rating system, and reports on 50+ industries and 110+ sub-industries.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link:

You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

First time users: set up your ILL account (this need only be done once)
Returning users: log into your ILL account

Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
Enter your user name and password.
Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Rural Sociology Databases

Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Annual Review of Sociology
The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology.
JSTOR
Complete backfiles for over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, mostly full-text. Open the "Advanced Search" link to search by keyword and limit by discipline.

Research Guides

Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology: Article Databases

Research Companion

AERS Article Databases

Business and Economics Databases

Finding Full Text Articles

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

Rural Sociology Databases