LibGuides: Agricultural and Extension Education: Article Databases

Agriculture & Education Journals

Agricultural Education Magazine

Below are a sample of journals related to the subject of Agricultural Education. Journals may contain both popular and scholarly sources (magazine, journal, and newspaper articles). For a full list, visit Journals.

Browse a list of journals subscribed to by the library:

Agriculture | Education

American Educational Research Journal
Education Week
Journal of Agricultural Education
Journal of Extension
Journal of International Agriculture and Extension Education
Journal of Youth Development
NACTA (North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture)
Science Education

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Agricultural Education Databases

Below are a sample of databases owned by the University of Idaho library, related to the subject of Agricultural Education. For a full list of databases, visit Finding Articles.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Agricola
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, primarily covering the subjects of agriculture, plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition.
ERIC
ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational literature. The EBSCO version provides access to ERIC Document citations and ERIC Journal citations.
JSTOR
Complete backfiles for over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, mostly full-text. Open the "Advanced Search" link to search by keyword and limit by discipline.
Web of Science
Web of Science contains the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes thousands of major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
Professional Development Collection (for Educators)
Professional Development Collection is a good place to search for full text articles in the field of education. Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles.
SAGE Education Full-text Collection
Includes the full text of 36 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 52,900 articles and up to 91 years of backfiles. Covers a multitude of subjects within education.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Biosis Previews
Online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM, BIOSIS Previews is the largest collection of biological literature and contains references to primary journal literature on vital biological research. 1969 - present.
Dissertations and Thesis Full Text
PQDT-Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world, together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link:

You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

How do I Use Interlibrary Loan?

First time users: set up your ILL account (this need only be done once)
Returning users: log into your ILL account

Locate the book you would like to request using the library catalog.
If the book is not available, or checked, click on Find it, and then Request.
Enter your user name and password.
Verify book request to make sure all necessary fields are complete, and submit.
A record of the request should appear on your account page.

Research Guides