It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowCitations to articles about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields.
American WestThis link opens in a new windowContains digitized primary unique source materials relating to the American West, including manuscripts, journals, maps, railroad records, newspapers, and ephemera.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowComplete image backfiles for over 2200 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The UI subscription includes all JSTOR titles with the exception of the Ireland Collection and 19th Century British Pamphlets. With a few exceptions, JSTOR titles do not include current issues. There is a moving wall of 3-5 years, depending on title, for which the latest issues are not available. Complete title list.
America's Historical Newspapers - Pacific Northwest Historical Newspapers ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers from Washington, Oregon and Idaho chronicle the explosive growth of the Pacific Northwest during the 19th and 20th centuries. The archive includes selected newspapers from the PNW newspapers archive, which itself is a subset of Readex's America's Historical Newspapers collection.
Titles included in the archive: Blackfoot Register 1880-1886 Idaho Statesman 1864-1922 Idaho Falls Times 1891-1920 Idaho Register 1886-1916 Owyhee Avalance 1865-1900 Twin Falls News 1918-1922 Oregon State Journal 1864-1880 Democratic Standard (Portland) 1854-1859 Oregonian 1861-1922 Bellingham Herald 1903-1922 Morning Olympian 1891-1922 Olympia Record 1902-1922 Hokubei Jiji (Seattle) 1916-1918 Tacoma Daily News 1890-1898
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowOffers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Includes basic and advanced search. Can browse by collection or journal title. Complete title list at: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/.
Idaho Digital Sanborn MapsThis link opens in a new windowMore than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.
This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas. Textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls) is often given on the plans while shading indicates different building materials. Extensive information on building use is given, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. In the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982This link opens in a new windowReaders' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Finding Fulltext Articles
Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article. Look for this icon:
Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext.
You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.
![University of Idaho Library [logo]](https://www.lib.uidaho.edu/media/images/ui_library_horizontal.png)
