Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

History: Reference Works

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks

Call numbers beginning with Ref are in the reference section and unavailable for checkout. Books with call numbers beginning with Day-NW need to be requested for in the Reading Room.

Title/Description

Call #

UNITED STATES

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History

Ref E185.E54 1996

Encyclopedia of American Indian History

Ref E77.E48 2008

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: a Political, Social, and Military History

Ref E468.H47 2000

Encyclopedia of the American West

Day-NW F591.E485 1996

Encyclopedia of the Lewis and Clark Expedition

Day-NW F592.7.W68 2004

Encyclopedia of U.S. Labor and Working Class History

HD8066.A78 2007

Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History

Ref D740.E516 2005

The New Encyclopedia of the American West

Ref F591.N46 1998

Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia

Ref E441.S635 2007

WORLD

Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History

DS918.E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Ref F1406.E53 1996

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation

CB359.B47 2004

Encyclopedia of the United Nations

KZ4968.M66 2002

Encyclopedia of World Environmental History

Ref GF10.E63 2004

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

Ref CB9.N49 2005

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History

Ref HC15.O94 2003

Subject Guide

Rochelle Smith's picture
Rochelle Smith
Contact:
rsmith@uidaho.edu

208.885.7850

Office: Library, 416S