Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Computer Science: Journal Articles

Guide to resources in Computer Science at the University of Idaho Library.

Computer Science Databases

Articles are generally more specific; use more specific keywords to create a narrower search.
Journals may contain both
 popular and scholarly sources (magazine, journal, and newspaper articles)

Browse a list of journals subscribed to by the library 

Search Article Databases

ACM Digital Library

The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles, and conference proceedings. Coverage varies; mostly mid-1990s to present.

Compendex (Engineering Index)

The most comprehensive index in engineering with over 9 million references. The coverage is worldwide and includes all areas of engineering. Provides citations and abstracts of information from journals, books, conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports from companies. Coverage is from 1884 to present.

Computer Source

This database offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics and software. Coverage is 1965 to present for some abstracts; 1985 to present for some full text; only more recent years for most titles.

IEEE Xplore

Provides access to all publications in the IEEE Computer Society package. Also provides access to full text IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, IEEE and IEE conference proceedings, active IEEE standards. Coverage 1988 to present; plus Proceedings of the IEEE, 1963-1987, with select content published since 1893.

Inspec

Created by the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). Includes abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers in many engineering areas, including computing and information technology. Includes more than 11 million records; 5000 journals; and 2500 conference proceedings. Coverage from 1969 to present.

SciVerse ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

Website for Elsevier science journals. The UI has subscription access to articles for 1800 subscribed titles and 1300 additional non-subscribed titles. Users may view tables of contents and abstracts from ‘non-subscribed’ journals. Users who register may receive free table of contents alerts. This database also includes access for 390 e-books. Coverage is 1995 to present.

MathSciNet

Mathematical Reviews on the Web; citations to articles in mathematics publications. Coverage is 1940 to present.

Web of Science

Coverage for journals in engineering and sciences. Provides citations, abstracts and some will also contain a link to the full text article. Coverage is 1900 to present.

 

Patents

SciFinder Scholar:    Search by patent number, inventor, assignee, keywords, class numbers, patent citations, CAS Registry numbers, etc.

 European Patent Office

U.S. Patents and TrademarksUI library website about searching for US Patents and Trademarks.

Finding Fulltext Articles

Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article.  Look for this icon:

Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext. 

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.