Skip to main content



English 102 Library Instruction: Articles

Finding periodical articles using UI Library databases

Selected Library Databases for English 102

Search these databases to find magazine and journal articles and more. The ones listed are often useful for research for English 102 essays, though many more subject-focused databases are available from the library's Articles page. Most databases are provided by subscription through the University of Idaho Library and many of the articles are available in full text.

Other potentially useful information sites

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link: 

Find It icon

You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.

Image from the library catalog of the green "fulltext available" link

Image of the "Full text available at" link

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Peer Review

What is Peer Review?

Peer-reviewed articles (also know as refereed) go through a process where they are analyzed by experts in a field before publication.

  • articles are examined to evaluate the quality of research
  • reviewers decide if the article adds to the content of the field

Articles can be scholarly (written and published for an academic audience), yet not go through the peer-review process.

Is my Article Peer Reviewed?

1. Check if your journal is peer reviewed

  • Search for your title in Ulrich's Global Serials Directory
  • When you find your journal, look for a "referee shirt" symbol.  The symbol will appear next to any journal title that is peer reviewed and/or refereed (interchangeable terms).

 

2. If the journal is peer reviewed, then assess the article

  • Is it a full research article?  If your article is a short news brief, an editorial, a letter to the editor, or a re-print of a conference proceeding, it is not peer reviewed.