Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse Landscape Architecture Journals @ UI
Finding Full Text Articles
While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.
When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" link:
You may be redirected to the article, to the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.
Below is an example of an article that is available online. Clicking on one of the links after "Full text available at" will take you to the article.
If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.
Google Scholar @ UI
Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?
Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.
Landscape Architecture Article Databases @ UI
Art Index & Art Index Retrospective
Art Index covers the years 1984 - present and Art Index Retrospective covers 1929-1984. Citations to articles in all aspects of art, architecture, design, and landscape architecture. Not inherently full-text, although "360 Link to Full Text" is activated.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
A comprehensive guide to the current literature of architecture, design, and landscape design; surveys more than 2,500 U.S. and foreign journals. Users should note that this is an index, meaning some articles may not be owned by UI and will need to be requested using Interlibrary Loan.
Integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 250 project case studies. Click "Case Studies" in the top right to browse projects; many include details about landscape.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases @ UI
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over 1500 titles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Users can search by topic or keyword, or browse by journals in the discipline of landscape architecture. Users should note that this database features a 3-5 year "moving wall" excluding current content.
Offers nearly 250 quality journal titles covering literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Users can search by topic or keyword, or browse discipline-specific journals.
Includes access to over 1,800 journals in science fields, including those in landscape architecture and related fields. Users can browse by discipline or search by keyword.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Web of Science
Includes access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, which indexes more than 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, including landscape architecture and bioregional planning.
Ecology & Environmental Science Databases @ UI
Need more places to look? Check out our list of environmental science and ecology databases, which might be of use in researching landscape architecture or bioregional planning topics.