LibGuides: Wildlife Sciences, Management, and Conservation Biology: Reference

Reference Works

Description:

Reference works include encyclopedias, dictionaries, chronologies, handbooks, and indexes. These sources can be helpful in providing an overview of topics when you are beginning your research. Call numbers beginning with Ref are in the reference section and cannot be checked out. Most are found on the 1st floor of the library.

Starting Points:

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross- searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers over 300 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
The Premium Collection is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Reference

Title/Description	Call #
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America	Ref QH77.N56B43 2001
Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment	Ref QH540.4.F35 2004
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity	Ref QH541.15.B56E53 2001
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species	website
Mammals of the Pacific Northwest : from the coast to the high Cascades	Ref QL201.M37 1998
Birds of North America	ebook
Models for Planning Wildlife Conservation in Large Landscapes	ebook
Techniques of Wildlife Investigations and Management	Ref SK355.T434 2005
Oxford Reference Online - Biological Sciences	ebook
World Database of Protected Areas	website

Research Guides

Wildlife Sciences, Management, and Conservation Biology: Reference

Reference Works

Reference