Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Wildlife Sciences, Management, and Conservation Biology: Articles

Finding Fulltext Articles

Some databases only provide citations, not the fulltext of the article.  Look for this icon:

Click it to see options for viewing the fulltext. 

You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to interlibrary loan.

Journal of Wildlife Management - Current Issue

Loading ...

Library Databases

Search these literature databases to find articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports, and more. Most are provided by subscription through the University of Idaho Library.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
The world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more.

BioOne
BioOne provides a collection of peer-reviewed, high quality titles across the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences, including current journals from the Society for Range Management.

Web of Science
Web of Science contains the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes thousands of major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.


BIOSIS Previews

Online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM, BIOSIS Previews is the largest collection of biological literature and contains references to primary journal literature on vital biological research and discoveries of new organisms.

CABDirect
Subjects covered include animal science; crop protection; plant science; parasitology; human and animal nutrition; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products and agroforesty; soil science; rural development, tourism and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Abstracts and citations covering the environmental sciences are drawn from over 10,000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
 
Lexis-Nexis
Lexis-Nexis contains the full-text of articles in news, business, and legal information. Additionally, the database inncludes company financial information, industry and market news, newspapers, magazines and trade journals, federal and state case law, accounting information, medical news, law reviews, state and country profiles. 
 
Pubmed
The National Library of Medicine's search service, PubMed provides access to millions of citations and abstracts in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.

Literature Reviews

If you are looking for literature reviews, try these resources:

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Preferences and scroll down to "Library Links". Type "University of Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Scroll down and save changes. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full-text access with your UI log-in.

Using DOIs

One of the easiest ways to find journal literature is to use the Digital Object Identifier, or DOI.  These are assigned to individual articles by most publishers and usually look something like this:

doi:10.1016/j.foreco.2009.01.017

You can use the doi.org service to easily link directly to the article.  The best part is - these are designed to be permanent!  No need to worry about long URLs that might change down the road.  They are also increasingly accepted as a part of citation formats.