Geological Sciences

This multi-disciplinary database provides online access to articles from more than 3,600 popular and scholarly publications. To find popular press articles, click on "Magazines" under "Source Type".

Provides full-text of recent news articles.

A good starting point for finding articles in major journals from a wide range of scientific disciplines, including geosciences. Also offers cited reference searching.

A key resource for finding articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses related to geological sciences. Covers North American geology from 1785 - present; the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 - present. Includes all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Abstracts and citations covering the environmental sciences are drawn from over 10,000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Provides access to the full-text of articles in journals published by Elsevier Science, such as Geomorphology and Earth and Planetary Science Letters. UI journal subscriptions are indicated by a green icon in the journal listing.

New Web Users: There is a required one-time registration for access.

Click here to access SciFinder

Access to SciFinder-n is restricted to UI faculty, students and staff. Research other than academic research is expressly forbidden, that is, research performed under a funding or consultant contract with the intention of delivering results to a for-profit organization, or patentability research. SciFinder provides 24-hour electronic access to Chemical Abstracts (CA) from 1907 to the present. In addition to keyword, subject and author searching, you may also search by chemical structure, chemical formula, CAS Registry number and patent number; search Medline at the same time that you search Chemical Abstracts; and look at the tables of contents of journals indexed by Chemical Abstracts. For detailed descriptions and help go to SciFinder Support & Training.