LibGuides: Physics: Articles

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the Find It link to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the Find It - Check for Full Text button.

You may be redirected to the article, the journal, the library catalog, or to interlibrary loan.

If you have any problems, ask a librarian for help.

Google Scholar @ UI

Want to use Google Scholar to find articles?

Go to Scholar Settings and click on "Library Links". Type "Idaho" in the search box, and select both "University of Idaho-U Idaho 360 Link" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search". Click on Save. This will allow Google Scholar to cross-check some of our subscriptions and give you full text access with your UI log-in. When searching Google Scholar click on the "U Idaho 360 Link" for full text access.

Key Databases for Finding Articles in Physics

arXiv
Provides open access to more than 760,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for finding scientific articles in major journals from a wide range of scientific disciplines, including physics, biological physics, astronomy, and astrophysics. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite a particular author or article.
Science Citation Index 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2004-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1994-present
Book Citation Index 2005-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015-present
Institute of Physics (IOP) Publications This link opens in a new window
Offers full text access to journals published by the Institute of Physics and their partners, including a historic archive from 1874-present.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database for scholarly research in chemistry, as well as good coverage of other physical sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of articles in journals published by Elsevier Science. UI journal subscriptions are indicated by a green icon in the journal listing.
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new window
Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT-Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
Index to international biomedical literature, 1950-present.