LibGuides: Primary Sources: Locating Primary Sources in the UI Library

Primary Sources in the Library Catalog

The search box on the main library webpage is a good place to begin looking for primary sources. Enter your search terms followed by the appropriate type of primary source you are seeking.

You can limit further by "Genre" on the left side of the page.

If you still need help, contact your subject librarian.

Primary Sources in Special Collections & Archives

Primary source materials in the UI Library's Special Collections & Archives include correspondence, memoranda, diaries, ledgers, financial papers, photographs and other records that support research into nearly all facets of the history of Idaho and the Pacific Northwest.

Political and Civic
Mining
Lumbering
Natural Resources and the Environment
Business
Literature and Religion
North Idaho, Latah County and Moscow
The University of Idaho

Finding Aids are available for locating information in our research collections.

Many primary source materials have been digitized and are availalbe online through the library website. The UI Library's Digital Initiatives digitally preserve institutional, local and scholarly material and resources.

Government Documents in the UI Library

As a Regional Depository for U.S. Government Documents for the state of Idaho, the UI Library collections consists of hundreds of thousands of paper documents, microforms, maps,CD-ROMs, and online publications.

U.S. Government Documents can be located using the library catalog. Limit to "UI Library Governement Documents Collection" on the left side of the results page.

|
If you need help locating a document in the collection, ask a librarian.

Primary Sources in the Article Databases

American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources related to: American Indians and the European Powers, American Indians and the US Government, Military Encounters: Conflicts, Rebellions and Alliances, Observation, Representation and Cultural Encounters, Indigenous Peoples of Mexico, First Nations of Canada, Missionaries and Education, Trade and Indian Economies, and the Civil Rights Movement. Documents include manuscripts, an extensive collection of artwork, including rare American Indian Ledger Art, diaries, correspondence, treaties, maps, and photographs.
Documents include manuscripts, an extensive collection of artwork, including rare American Indian Ledger Art, diaries, correspondence, treaties, maps, and photographs.

Below are a sample of databases owned by the UI Library that are good for finding primary sources. For a full list of databases, visit Finding Articles.

American West
Digitized primary unique source materials relating to the American West, including manuscripts, journals, maps, railroad records, newspapers, and ephemera. Covers years 1722-1939.
Berg Fashion Library
Includes Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Works of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world. The scope of the collection ranges from 3000 BCE to the present, representing premiere examples of Asian, African, Latin American and Western art, with a special focus on contemporary art. This image database complements ArtSTOR, and all content is rights-cleared for educational use.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Allows users to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections by exploring images, full-text books, newspapers, letters, diaries, and archival papers. Contributing institutions include the British Library, the Rijksmuseum, and the Louvre, among others.

Everday Life & Women in America
Fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - American Decades Primary Sources
American Decades Primary Sources
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
Printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video clips, this resource examines key issues and events including youth culture, popular culture, changing lifestyles 1950-1975, civil rights, the space race, consumerism, the Vietnam Conflict, and nuclear disarmament.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Entire archive of Vogue (US), beginning with the first issue in 1892. This searchable full-color database covers a number of subjects, including textiles and fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, photography and graphic design, marketing and advertising.

Maps in the UI Library

An extensive collection of print and digital maps are available in the UI Library. Most maps can be found by using the library's catalog. Add the word "map" to your search terms.

Print maps are located in the Map Room. Hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. with weekend hours available by appointment.

The Digital Map Collection is available online and can be accessed around the clock.

Newspapers in the UI Library

Current issues of local, state and national newspapers are available in print on the 2nd floor of the UI Library. Many older and historical newspapers from the library's collection are available on microfilm (on reels) and microfiche (sheets), located on the 2nd floor of the libray.

If you are looking for an article from an older or historical newspaper that is not part of our collection, search the library's electronic newspaper archives and databases, listed below. For off-campus access, log in with your NetID and password. Limit your search results to Newspapers.

The Argonaut Index
Articles about the University of Idaho and its faculty, staff and students from 1898-1968, 1981-1993, and from 2000-present.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Articles in foreign and U.S. newspapers.
New York Times Archive Index
New York Times articles from 1851 to the present.
Newspaper Source Plus
Articles in foreign and U.S. newspapers.
Pacific Northwest Historical Newspapers Archive
Historical newspapers from Washington, Oregon and Idaho from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Some websites also provide links to digitized newspaper archives. For suggestions, check out our links to Older, Historical Newspapers on the Web.

If you are looking for full online access to current news articles in national newspapers, the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are available electronically to UI affiliates.

For even more information, see our Guide to Newspaper Resources.

Research Guides