Skip to Main Content

Ask Us

Research Guides

Forest and Fire Sciences

Guide to resources to support the learning, teaching and research in the forest resources and fire ecology programs of the U-Idaho College of Natural Resources.

Reference

Title/Description	Call #
Dictionary for Managing Trees in Urban Environments	Ref SB436.D53 2009
Elsevier's Dictionary of Forestry	Ref SD126.D455 2004
Encyclopedia of American Forest and Conservation History	SD143.E53 1983 (3rd floor)
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences	ebook
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science	G70.212.E534 2008
Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology	SB728.E53 2000 (3rd floor)
Forest History Bibliography	Website
Historical dictionary of forestry and woodland terms	Ref SD179.J349 1991
Literature of forestry and agroforestry	Ref SD387.D6L58 1996
NWCG Glossary of Wildland Fire	ebook

Finding Books in the Library

Search for books (including the e-book collection) using the library catalog.

Books are located on the 4th (A-G), 3rd (H-S), and 2nd (T-Z) floors organized by the Library of Congress Classification system.

Description	Call # Areas
Geography (specifically GIS and remote sensing)	G70-70.6
Forestry (General)	SD 1-131
History of Forestry	SD131-247.5
Forestry Education	SD 250-363.3
Forestry Machinery and Engineering. Forest Roads.	SD 388-89
Forest Soils	SD 390-390.43
Forest Meteorology.	SD 390.5-390.7
Sylviculture	SD 391-410.9
Conservation and Protection. Includes Wildland Fire.	SD 411-428
Exploitation and utilization	SD 430-559
Administration. Policy.	SD 561-669.5