Skip to main content



Gary Strong Curriculum Center - College of Education, Health and Human Sciences

Semester report on activities in the Curriculum Center

Gary Strong Curriculum Center - Spring 2017 Report

During the Spring 2017 semester the Gary Strong Curriculum Center was open Monday through Thursday from 8:00am to 5pm and Friday from 8:00am-4:00pm. The Curriculum Center has one full-time staff person and the Education Librarian assigned from the main library for 20 hours a week. The Education Librarian was available in the Curriculum Center Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and by appointment. The data reported below is from Janurary 1st to June 30th 2017.

Curriculum Center webpagehttp://www.lib.uidaho.edu/services/curriculumcenter.html 

Curriculum Center Library guide:  http://libguides.uidaho.edu/GSCC

Spring 2017 Curriculum Center Collections and Materials

The Curriculum Center contains K-12 curriculum materials for the State of Idaho, reading and research materials that support College of Education programs, and technology such as laptops, iPad, and other devices to support student/faculty needs. 

At the end of the Spring 2017, the Curriculum Center had 21,425 items in its collection which is an increase of 239 items from Fall 2016 (21,186).

1389 items from the Curriculum Center circulated in Spring 2017:

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

1501 items from the Curriculum Center circulated in Fall 2016:

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

The Curriculum Center mainly circulates three types of items. 1. K-12 Curriculum Materials adopted by the State of Idaho. 2. Items found in the Curriculum Center's main collection that support reading, literacy development, and education research. 3. Materials put on Reserves for limited duration checkout such as technology, Praxis study aids, and course-related readings.

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Fall 2016 numbers are provided below for comparison.

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

The Curriculum Center, in collaboration with the Doceo Center, circulates various technology and equipment to aid in learning, research, and teaching. These items include laptops, ipads, digital tools, and also physical items like tripods and markers.

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Fall 2016 numbers are provided below for comparison.

 

 

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Fall 2016/Spring 2017 Education Items Circulation from Main Collection

The main library maintains a collection of education monographs and research materials found  on the 3rd floor in sections L through LT of the Library of Congress Classification System. In the Fall of 2016, the library recorded 1,108 items circulated from this collection. In Spring 2017, there were 1,162 items circulated from the main Education collection. (Note July 2016 / June 2017 not reflected in table below)

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Fall 2016 / Spring 2017 College of Education Team Room Checkouts

The Curriculum Center coordinated circulation of Team Room boxes for the study spaces in the College of Education. These boxes were checked out 162 times during Fall 2016 and 82 times in Spring 2017 (244 total). During the Spring 2017 semester the study rooms were unlocked during the day so the Team Room boxes were no longer a complete measure of usage.

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Education Collection Development Fall 2016 / Spring 2017

The Library undertakes collection development to build lasting and useful materials for College of Education students, faculty, and researchers. In Fall 2016, 149 books were added to the main Library and Curriculum Center collections. In Spring 2017, 370 items were added to the Library and Curriculum Center collections. The Education librarian purchases materials from funds designated for three areas - Education, Physical Education, and Curriculum Center. By the end of Fall 2016, 65% of the total budget for Education, Physical Education, and the Curriculum Center had been spent for new materials. Budget expenditures for Spring 2017 are unavailable at the time of this report's creation. 

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

New Education Books

Loading

Spring 2017 Projects and Accomplishments

These were projects and accomplishments that the Curriculum Center worked on during the Spring 2017 semester:

  • Kiosk computer on end of stacks now up and running.
  • Opened Curriculum Center and gave tours on UIdaho Bound days
  • Celebrated Poetry Month with poetry display and the Library Poembot poem generator
  • Added materials to the Curriculum Center on award winning books.
  • Finished data-gathering for GIS space assessment project and Information Literacy testing.
  • Mid-semester: received furniture for Curriculum Center (table, soft seating, chairs.).
  • Moved Lewis & Clark and Native American collections to new location.
  • Printing made available to students 
  • Attended College of Education Master's student defense.
  • Updated Praxis Libguides
  • Created new Libguide pages for:

Anticipated Fall 2017 Projects

  • We anticipate we will receive new curriculum materials for the Social Sciences in October 2017. We will withdraw the current Social Sciences curriculum materials to prepare for this.
  • Develop READ posters.
  • Banned Book Week outreach
  • Move Praxis study guides to main curriculum center collection
  • Expand outreach to Physical Education majors and faculty.
  • Receive the remaining furniture to complete space and new drop box / printer console.
  • Determine if GIS space assessment tool is appropriate for Curriculum Center space.
  • Analyze  ProjectSAILS information literacy testing dataset.
  • Start research project with student worker help analyzing College of Education dissertation bibliographies.
  • Continue work to align patron interaction statistics to university, library, and college strategic goals
  • Create new workflow documentation and instructions.
  • Attend departmental meetings in most areas of College of Education
  • Will lend materials to main Library for display in Fall semester.
  • Explore Idaho Humanities grant to bring in authors for Education students
  • Plan to create displays of Education materials from the main Library in the Curriculum Center
  • Get remaining furniture for Curriculum Center area and new After Hours Drop Box/Student Printer Center installed.
  • Plan workshop series:
    • What Works Clearing House / ERIC / Novelist / LILI
    • Archives Week for Education students

Patron Interactions Spring 2017

The Curriculum Center offers assistance to students, faculty, staff, and community members to meet their information, research, and learning needs. 

There were 340 direct patron interactions recorded in the Reference Analytics tool in Spring of 2017. These interactions included answering questions from patrons, providing directions, and assisting with research-related needs. The majority of these encounters were with students (75%) with a slight increase in faculty/staff interactions compared to Fall 2016. Below is a breakdown of interaction by patron type for Spring 2017:

For comparison, here are the interactions for Fall 2016:

Data source: LibAnswers 

Spring 2017 Curriculum Center Space Usage

The Curriculum Center does not have an automated gate counter to gather data on how many patrons visit the space. We are continuing to experiment with different methods to gather data on how the Curriculum Spaces are being used. In the Spring of 2017, we recorded our observations of space usage into a Google spreadsheet.

There were 4119 observations of patrons using the Curriculum Center in Spring 2017 which is an increase of 1507 from Fall of 2016 which 2612 observations recorded. This 170% increase in activity can mainly be attributed to printing functionality being added to the computers and the addition of new soft seating group spaces.   Below is breakdown by type of usage:

For comparison purposes, these were the Fall 2016 space observations:

 

Data source: Curriculum Center Google Spreadsheet

Fall 2016 / Spring 2017 Library Instruction with Education Students

The Curriculum Center and Education Librarian is committed to contributing to the learning mission of the University of Idaho. The Library offers library instruction for both undergraduates and graduate students geared toward increasing information literacy and research skills as outlined in the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education

In the Spring of 2017, the Education librarian taught 3 library instruction sessions specifically for College of Education classes. These sessions reached 64 students. In Fall 2016, the Education Librarian taught 7 library instruction sessions specifically for College of Education classes. These sessions reached 180 students. In total for Fall 2016/Spring 2017 the Education librarian reached 244 students which is 20% of the College of Education Fall 2016 enrollment. (Note: Spring 2017 enrollment numbers are not available at the time this report was put together.)

The Education Librarian also taught Eng 102 and ISEM instruction sessions, as well as created in the Fall 3 literature review research videos for AOLL 600 (student data not included as part of this report). An overarching goal, is to increase library instruction sessions within College of Education and reach more students. The Curriculum Center also gave a tour in the Fall to 30 students in the FCS 234 Infancy & Early Childhood class (not reflected in student data below).

Data Source(s): Instruction data from library instruction reporting spreadsheet. Enrollment data is from the University of Idaho Institutional Effectiveness and Accreditation Office and the 2016 Fall Census documents.

Education Library Research Guides