Skip to main content



Gary Strong Curriculum Center - College of Education, Health and Human Sciences

Semester report on activities in the Curriculum Center

Gary Strong Curriculum Center - Fall 2016 Report

In the Fall of 2016, the Instructional Materials & Technology Center (IMTC) reopened in the College of Education's remodeled building. The space was rededicated as the Gary Strong Curriculum Center (GSCC). During the semester the Curriculum Center was open Monday through Friday from 8am to 5pm. The Curriculum Center has one full-time staff person and the Education Librarian assigned from the main library for 20 hours a week. The Education Librarian was available in the Curriculum Center Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and by appointment. The data reported below is from August 1st to December 31st 2016.

Curriculum Center webpagehttp://www.lib.uidaho.edu/services/curriculumcenter.html 

Curriculum Center Library guide:  http://libguides.uidaho.edu/IMTC 

Fall 2016 Curriculum Center Collections and Materials

The Curriculum Center contains K-12 curriculum materials for the State of Idaho, reading and research materials that support College of Education programs, and technology such as laptops and other devices to support student/faculty needs. 

As of the end of Fall 2016, the Curriculum Center had 21,186 items in its collection. During that time 1133 new items were added to the catalog.

1501 items from the Curriculum Center circulated in Fall 2016.

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

The Curriculum Center mainly circulates three types of items. 1. K-12 Curriculum Materials adopted by the State of Idaho. 2. Items found in the Curriculum Center's main collection that support reading, literacy development, and education research. 3. Materials put on Reserves for limited duration checkout such as technology, Praxis study aids, and course-related readings.

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

The Curriculum Center, in collaboration with the Doceo Center, circulates various technology and equipment to aid in learning, research, and teaching. These items include laptops, ipads, digital tools, and also physical items like tripods and markers.

 

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Fall 2016 Education Items Circulation from Main Collection

The main library maintains a collection of education monographs and research materials found  on the 3rd floor in sections L through LT of the Library of Congress Classification System. In the Fall of 2016, the library recorded 1,108 items circulated from this collection. 

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

Fall 2016 College of Education Team Room Checkouts

The Curriculum Center coordinated checking of Team Room boxes for the study spaces in the College of Education. These boxes were checked out 162 times during Fall 2016.

Data source: Alma Analytics Fulfillment Report

Education Collection Development Fall 2016

The Library undertakes collection development to build lasting and useful materials for College of Education students, faculty, and researchers. In Fall 2016, 149 books were added to the main Library and Curriculum Center collections. The Education librarian purchases materials from funds designated for three areas - Education, Physical Education, and Curriculum Center. By then end of Fall 2016, 65% of the total budget for Education, Physical Education, and the Curriculum Center had been spent for new materials,

Data Source: Alma Analytics Curriculum Center Dashboard

New Education Books

Loading

Fall 2016 Projects and Accomplishments

These were projects and accomplishments that the Curriculum Center worked on during the Fall 2016 semester:

Anticipated Spring 2017 Projects

  • We anticipate we will receive new curriculum materials for the Social Sciences. We will to withdraw the current Social Sciences curriculum materials to prepare for this.
  • Continue to process and add Math curriculum materials to collection
  • Begin collecting space use statistics using new GIS tool
  • Continue ProjectSAILS information literacy research project began in Fall 2016
  • Will work to align patron interaction statistics to university, library, and college strategic goals
  • Create new workflow documentation and instructions.
  • Explore hosting the Every Child Ready to Read program again.
  • Collection development on reminder (35%) of Education collections budget.

Patron Interactions

The Curriculum Center offers assistance to students, faculty, staff, and community members to meet their information, research, and learning needs. 

There were 273 direct patron interactions recorded in the Reference Analytics tool. These interactions included answering questions from patrons, providing directions, and assisting with research-related needs. The majority of these encounters were with students (77%). Below is a breakdown of interaction by patron type:

Data source: LibAnswers 

Fall 2016 Curriculum Center Space Usage

The Curriculum Center does not have an automated gate counter to gather data on how many patrons visit the space. We are continuing to experiment with different methods to gather data on how the Curriculum Spaces are being used. In the Fall of 2016, we recorded our observations of space usage into a Google spreadsheet.

There were 2612 observations of patrons using the Curriculum Center in Fall 2016. Below is breakdown by type of usage:

Data source: Curriculum Center Google Spreadsheet

Fall 2016 Library Instruction with Education Students

The Curriculum Center and Education Librarian is committed to contributing to the learning mission of the University of Idaho. The Library offers library instruction for both undergraduates and graduate students geared toward increasing information literacy and research skills as outlined in the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education

In Fall 2016, the Education Librarian taught 7 library instruction sessions specifically for College of Education classes. These sessions reached 180 students. The Education Librarian also taught Eng 102 and ISEM instruction sessions, as well created 3 literature review research videos for AOLL 600 (student data not included as part of this report). An overarching goal, is to increase library instruction sessions within College of Education and reach more students. The Curriculum Center also gave a tour to 30 students in the FCS 234 Infancy & Early Childhood class (not reflected in student data below).

Data Source(s): Instruction data from library instruction reporting spreadsheet. Enrollment data is from the University of Idaho Institutional Effectiveness and Accreditation Office and the 2016 Fall Census documents.

Education Library Research Guides