Skip to main content



Education Resources for Distance and Online Students: Introduction

This guide is intended to assist Education students at a distance or taking course online in accessing library resources and research materials

Introducation

This guide is to help you get started with research and familiarize your with library resources. The tabs at the top will allow you to view various library resources and services.

Using the Library Catalog

Search for books, DVDs, and more in our library and beyond

 

Tips for Searching the Library Catalog:

  • Choose the search scope by selecting either UI and Summit (items owned by UI and member libraries); UI Only (items owned by UI); Everything (items owned worldwide) or EBSCO (articles and other items in our EBSCO databases).   
  • Limiting your search: Start with a basic search and once you find a book that seems to be about your topic, you can use the format and/or other options located on the left to further narrow your search.
  • On the Advanced Search page, the year, language, and location (to name a few options) of items can be limited.
  • Subject headings can be a great way to narrow in on your topic.

Education Article Databases

ERIC (from Ebsco)

The Education Resource Information Center from the U.S. Department of Education is the most comprehensive index to education literature. While the information can be accessed from the Department of Education’s website, the subscription version provided by EBSCO offers enhanced search and limiting options. ERIC includes peer reviewed journals, practitioner journals, lesson plans, unpublished working papers, dissertations, and more.

Education Index Retrospective

Education Index Retrospective searches over 500 education-related periodicals from the time period 1929-1983.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

PsycINFO

Scholarly index providing citations and abstracts of international journal articles and current chapter and book coverage. Monthly updates.

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection is a good place to search for full text articles in the field of education. Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, citations and abstracts are provided for nearly 600 journals.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Librarian

Rick Stoddart's picture
Rick Stoddart
Contact:
(208) 885-2504
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Education

Online and Distance Research Guide Videos

Video Tutorials: